E-book vs paper book

20 Aug

The recent release of the Ipad has seen a new lease of life for e-books.  The  popular Amazon Kindle suddenly seems to have a real competitor within the market.  But how many people really ‘read’ from these machines?

Ok So maybe I am bias. I like a book. I like the touch, the smell, the texture. I want to experience the whole book, not just the story.  Somehow, reading from a machine detaches you, like it is only a half-hearted attempt.  Just like when you are online and scan the page, you do this with e-books.

I want to read in bed, on the sofa, in the garden, at the beach…..everywhere really. Sure, you can take the Ipad with you, but whoops, you forget to charge it; its good, you can’t deny it, but nothing will replace a good old-fashioned book.

Vote in our poll to see what others think.

One Response to “E-book vs paper book”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I like reading a real book, but then, when I think about my own stories/ideas….who knows what format they will be in? So I wouldn’t want to dismiss the electronic version completely!

Leave a Reply

