NaNoWriMo..if only I had the time

29 Oct

I have heard for several years now about the wonder that is NaNoWriMo. It has never appealed to me.

For those of you who do not know about NanoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), it is an annual event, held every November, to get all writers, well, writing.

You have 30 days to write a 50,000 word novel. You are not scored on your prose, just simply asked to demonstrate your own ability to produce a piece of writing within a deadline.

Check out the site if this appeals to you, http://www.nanowrimo.org/

So it’s November next week, the official start to Nano. As I have said, it is not something I have ever taken an interest in. To be honest, up until last week I hadn’t even looked at the website, but that is where I went wrong.

I want to do it. I want to do it. I really think this would be good for me. I have my synopsis written. I have my characters fully thought out. I can picture the scenes like in a film. But…I have my last year at uni to be getting on with, plus two very demanding small children not to mention the husband. I just don’t think it is feasible this year.

Yes, whatever I write will be a huge helping hand to the writing side of my degree;  can I really dedicate writing just over 1,500 words per day? Thinking of it like that, possibly. But I won’t be blogging, and I have been rather rubbish at even that recently. 

Oh what to do? NaNoWriMo is calling, and I can’t shut it out.

6 Responses to “NaNoWriMo..if only I had the time”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    “I have my synopsis written. I have my characters fully thought out. I can picture the scenes like in a film.” – Hopefully that will be me by the end of the year!

    • Ellie October 30, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      I think you will do it – I really do!

  2. propublications November 2, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I tried it one year, but didn’t finish. However, that said, I did generate some ideas that have since grown into other things.

    NaNoWrimo is a cool writing experiment that puts you into a different headspace, and that can be quite inspiring. I say do it. In the end, there’s no pressure other than what you put on yourself. I don’t think anything destructive can come of it. You’ll only learn a bit more about yourself as a writer.

    • Ellie November 2, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      I have made a decision. Simply, I have written just short of 1,500 words. My plan is to continue this week, and then walk away if the pressure is too much. I only worry this year because of outside pressures, such as my uni work. My final year cannot suffer for self indulgence.

      I will without doubt though, complete Nano next year. A year may seem a long way off but it comes round all too quickly.

      Besides which, I know I shall continue writing between now and then; so even if I do decide to walk away at the end of the week, I shall have a great starting point for the next project.

  3. Ellie October 29, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    To be honest, it’s more about proving my dedication than learning lessons. The problem with me proving my dedication is my general obsession to finish what I have started. The only way I won’t finish, is if I decide the idea just won’t work as I have planned. I don’t believe in continuing writing if it doesn’t ‘feel’ right. Do you understand what I mean? If you enjoy doing something you want to see it through to the end, but if it’s filled with holes, their can never be an end because it will never be right.

  4. Carol Hoare October 29, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    If you try it and can’t finish – will it be a positive lesson learnt or a destructive one?
    You do have a HUGE amount on your plate just now!!

Leave a Reply

