Reason number 1 as to why a writer needs a publisher.

16 Nov

Classic example as to why I should just be left alone to write, rather than be dragged into the technicalities of publishing.

As many of you know, I have gone through this research project on e-books, e-publishing, self publishing….the list goes on. I have made contact with some really helpful people, who let’s be honest, have had to put up with some really rubbish enquiries from me. I must look like a right lemon half the time.

Anyway, the point is, I am blundering my way through; unaware at the start of the size of the project I was undertaking, and easily becoming overwhelmed by the amount of information out there. It is all about perspective, which angle you are approaching publishing from.

So lost and bewildered, I stumble on. Today though, I fell flat on my face. The most basic, simplistic necessity when publishing smacked me straight in the face.

GET AN EDITOR. I think I should just go and hide until the world has forgotten that they were contacted by Ellie Ransley, who quite simply didn’t know what she was doing.

But I can’t; so now I must redeem myself. It is time to start at the beginning, look at the most basic, the most obvious, the seemingly trivial. Once I have that sorted, I can move forward.

I think I really do live in a somewhat fantastical world, and my talents (I think) lay in my ability to translate my imagination to the page. So Publishers, yes, us writers need you, (even if the big bad online meanies think differently).

3 Responses to “Reason number 1 as to why a writer needs a publisher.”

  1. Country Girl November 16, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Great post. I have been doing freelance writing for some time now, and I am just starting to look into finding a publisher. To that end, this post was strangely motivational to me.

    • Ellie November 17, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      The information out there is so confusing, and although there are many helpful people, there are also an equal amount who are unhelpful. Good luck with finding a publisher, let me know how you get on.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m not going to lie…the formatting nightmare « Reading, writing and the bits inbetween - March 30, 2011

    […] yes I have had an editor, I have had the design done (although, if I am honest, I came across a nifty bit of software […]

Leave a Reply

