It’s all clicked into place

18 Nov

I am so excited. Sat eating my bacon and hash brown bap this morning, everything clicked into place.

I have pushed through with my research, trying to abandon my own ideals on publishing. This was a success. It allowed me to look at things that were confusing, and far from what I had ever considered necessary.

Maybe I was naive. Well actually, there is no maybe about it. I was, still am to an extent, but I have realised the most important thing.

My ideals about writing, and publishing, were right. Well for what I want at the very least. I just hadn’t distinguished until now that everybodys needs are different.

What I am now interested in, is what do you want from your writing? Do you just want to say you have been published, or do you want to say you’ve written a bestseller? Or maybe, it’s neither, you just want to write. Let me know your thoughts.

10 Responses to “It’s all clicked into place”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Flip a coin?

  2. Barb November 18, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    blog serendipity…
    http://creativebarbwire.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/goober-writers-anonymous/
    Why we write is differend for everybody, I think. What is success for each writer is different as well.
    I know I want to reach out to new readers, and if a trad pub won’t help me do it, I’ll self-publish (easier nowadays than it was 10 years ago). Mostly because even the professionals mentioned in the previous comment probably won’t help you with marketing and selling your novel… not when you’re still an unknown.
    Happy writing!

    • Ellie November 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

      Thanks for popping by my site.

      One of the questions that I have been pondering about self publishing; why would you pay to e-publish, when we all know you shouldn’t have to pay a publisher? I know it is a hard industry to break into, but if the traditional route doesn’t want you right now, why pay for the right to be published. Is it time to just say it is for pleasure only?

      Or in your case, is a handful of new readers enough? Or is that just the start? What about the perception you create about yourself? Would self publishing tarnish your future potential?

      • Barb November 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

        you don’t have to pay to e-publish… not on Smashwords. I have only used POD so far, as I’ve issued only graphic novels, and those don’t work well on e-readers yet. But next year I plan on publishing a novel on Smashwords, hoping to find my little readership that allows me to live happily ever after! 🙂
        And self-publishing doesn’t really tarnish reputations anymore… check JA Konrath or Dean Wesley Smith’s blogs for more. Besides, I’m too old to actually care! 😉
        Happy writing!

      • Ellie November 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

        Thanks Barb, I shall check out those blogs. It is confusing all of the differing opinions!

      • Barb November 22, 2010 at 10:16 am #

        I know, the internet says everything and it’s opposite, and it’s hare to decide. Dean Wesley Smith’s “Killing the Sacred Cows of writing” is greatly informative, and from a multipublished author…
        Happy writing!

  3. Eoin Purcell November 18, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Ellie,

    That’s a great question for EVERY writer to ask themselves. It makes the process of getting your work out there easier if you know what it is you want!

    Eoin

    • Ellie November 18, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

      Thanks Eoin.

  4. Carol Hoare November 18, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    My thoughts: write, just write, write to please yourself, if it excites you it will probably excite others! If you only write to please others or make your fortune you’ll never be satisfied!!
    P.S. and (hopefully) let the professionals take care of the publishing, publicity etc)

    • Ellie November 18, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Is not half the pleasure having people discuss your work? This is my problem, I can write and write and write, but if no one wants to read my work, I lose heart in it. I like to think I write well, and therfore want to share it. In sharing it, I have to write to please others. Having said that I think you are right. If your enthusiam spills onto the page it can only be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

