Motivation, bad apples and a ramble

24 Nov

I didn’t think today that I had much motivation for work. In fact I thought it was zero. However, I pushed through and made myself sit at the computer.

Just really researching some more, responding to emails, sorting out what all the research means. As I am sure I have mentioned before, the publishing world is very confusing. (I should mention I am aware I am a bad bad person for not creatively writing, but I just can’t do it at the moment. Let’s call it a holiday).

I have met some wonderful people through online forums, blogs and twitter. They have been encouraging with the information they offer, and their willingness to take part in my research has been beyond words. I can honestly say I didn’t realise how wonderful the writing community is. Everybody wants to help others. Each with their own unique way of providing advice.

As they say though, it only takes one rotten apple…

I always read through blogs and websites before making contact via email. I wouldn’t wish to ask something that they have already thoughtfully provided the answer to. Likewise, I would never take someones idea, or advice, without contacting them first. From a student perspective, all the information is out there and you could just get all  you need without making contact with anyone. It wouldn’t be very fun, and less inciting I think.

Basically I received a less  than enthusiastic response from a self publisher today. I won’t name names. However, one thing I have learnt that to be a succesful self publisher, you must network, you must make contacts, you must take publicity where you find it. I won’t be buying the work of this author now. Sorry.

This person hasn’t destroyed the community I have found. They have just disappointed me.

2 Responses to “Motivation, bad apples and a ramble”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    Where should I look for information before I start writing myself?

    • Ellie October 30, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      What sort of information are you after?

Leave a Reply

