UK or US English for the e-book market

15 Dec

I have recently had some of my work edited by Jessica in the US. I hit send on the email then sat back and waited for the text to come back looking beautiful.

And it did.

This little exercise threw up further questions for me however. You see, i didn’t  consider Jessica working to American English. To be honest, our own locations hadn’t even been discussed. It was only part way through when Jessica’s notes queried my spelling of ‘colour’, that the (searching for some quirky term) light came on. (I gave up!)

There were grammatical differences as well as spelling.

I am pondering now the best route to take. Not whether I should continue to work with Jessica….she was fast and thorough, no complaints there; but whether i should work to US or UK English.

Currently the US market for ebooks is larger than the UK. Should I write to their standard? Having said that, I recently read that novels by new authors are much more popular in the UK (for various reasons). Should I aim for the UK market?

This piece is for children so much more research on that market will be needed by me. However,  as a whole this does leave me wondering what to do.

Like I say, if it hadn’t been for the consultation with a US editor, I would never have even considered it.

4 Responses to “UK or US English for the e-book market”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    UK! English (US) is not a language. It is a change due to pronunciation. Stick to the original language.

  2. grumphy December 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    So why not do both? Since the only difference is in editing, you could have a US file and a UK file at the same time. It might be difficult to write naturally for the US market anyway, but re-editing for a larger marlet would probably be worth it eventually!

    • Ellie December 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

      It’s the same old thing, know your audience.

      i think you may be right, a UK and US edition. Although most of the text fits both markets, it may have to be tweeked as there are subtle differences.

      It definitely isnt something I have thought about before.

  3. Carol Hoare December 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    UK UK UK UK !!

Leave a Reply

