Todays writing challenge

20 Dec

Today I am setting myself a challenge.

As a rule, well on a good day, I can write 1,000 words per hour. Now although I am sat in the library, kids in school, I can’t say I have a full days work  in front of me. My toes are so cold it is the biggest distraction.

Anyway, my challenge today is to write 4,000 words. This must be achievable. It certainly won’t be quality writing, there may only 300 words salvageable when I finish, but all the same, it will be worthwhile doing. My own discipline when it comes to work recently has appalled me.

On that note, I shall stop using various tools of distraction and begin.

4 Responses to “Todays writing challenge”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    If you don’t mind me asking, do you do writing for a living? Or are you working as well?

    Doing that many words a day seems daunting! Once I start writing, I’m sure it will be ok…just getting that initial momentum…

    • Ellie October 30, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Once you are started, the number of words you write increase dramatically…you just need to get this bit written, thats all you are ever thinking! However, you said before that you write with a pen quite often, for me, this slows my pace dramatically, and I often lose thread of where I am headed.

      At the time of writing this post I was studying at uni which included a large amount of credits for creative writing. Hence why I was able to just say, write! Its not that easy these days as I do work and never get an hour just ‘to me’.

  2. Ellie January 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Now this post seems like a lifetime ago. I managed 5,000 words. I promised myself that I would work hard to maintain this level of activity, and aim to achieve 50,000 as a minimum by monday 10th Jan. I haven’t started again yet, and 50,000 now seems like an impossible task.

    Maybe my flu is the cause of this negativity.

    On the plus side, I have had some brilliant illness induced dreams and my ideas book is topping itself up nicely.

  3. grumphy December 24, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    I once managed 10,000 words in one day, and though most of it was crap, it did help with plot-hole detection and the pacing and setting choices. Hope it went well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

