Point of Origin – Patricia Cornwell

5 Jan

Once again, Dr Kay Scarpetta, chief medical examiner finds herself at the centre of brutal murders. This time, involving fires starting in a bathroom with an unidentified accelerant.

Swiftly it soon becomes apparent that these murders are linked to Kay’s niece Lucy, and her crazy ex-girlfriend. As a result, Lucy, Kay, Marino and Benton are all at risk.

As with all Cornwell’s novels this is gripping and hooks your attention. Yes it becomes cliché when you are familiar with the work, but it can be forgiven because of the clever writing and plotting. The characterization also leaves you with a sense that these are your friends. You don’t want them to come to harm so to read on is a must.

My only negative is I find the technical details of post modern procedures a drag. They are an integral part of the plot. They are Kay Scarpetta. However, a little less wouldn’t do any harm in my opinion.

As with all of Cornwell’s work, read it.

Warner 1999

2 Responses to “Point of Origin – Patricia Cornwell”

  1. Pmi membership discount coupon April 20, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

  2. testdomain March 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

Leave a Reply

