POD – seriously?

25 Jan

Today I am trying to decide which is better, Lulu or Createspace.

That’s about as far as I have got.

Seriously, never have I stumbled across such a difficult subject. It doesn’t seem to matter how much research I do, how many blogs I read, forums I involve myself with, the subject doesn’t become any easier.

It is all about pricing. You have to know exactly what size you want your book to be, how many pages it will contain before even getting a rough idea…let’s not even consider shipping costs. I think I must be reading this wrong but I have come across so many blog posts that express the same concern I am determined to get to the bottom of it.

So let’s say I have decided on the size, I then need to break that down into pages. For which I need to know font and text size. Not to mention the headings. How many pages of blurb shall I include?

OK I could make this easier, I could just have it all worked out before trying to make a decision. I just want to understand.

The thing is, I don’t know why it has been made so complicated. I mean, with the majority of self publishing sales attributed to e-publishing, why is print on demand (POD) so difficult? Surely, they should make it easier, making the idea more attractive to all the e-publishers. Personally, I think I may just e-publish, and re-look at POD if it becomes necessary.

Or is that just a cop-out?

Time to continue reading….

3 Responses to “POD – seriously?”

  1. Jessica S January 25, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I can’t way to see which you decide on.

    Waiting for the next post,
    Jessica

    • Ellie January 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      I think I am definitely swaying towards createSpace, although I still have to check EVERYTHING out. next step, make a definite decision on which route to take for the e-publishing side, although (whisper) I think I already know lol!

      • Jessica S January 26, 2011 at 8:49 am #

        (scream) Good luck!

        Hehe.

Leave a Reply

