Do you have a blog plan?

1 Feb

Do you have a blog plan? What I mean is do you plan your posts in advance? Do you try to put out a series of related articles, or have certain days for a certain category?

I have read  a few posts about this, the need for the plan to streamline your writing, help target an audience, bring in more return readers. To make sure you don’t run ship because you think you have run out of ideas.

I get it, I really do, and I wish i could be that organised. The truth is I’m not, and I never will be. not for this blog anyway. This blog is 100% inspired by what I am doing, and what I am reading. Seen as this changes on almost a daily basis, it is not surprising my posts are here there and everywhere. I could write in advance. I could plan that way, but last time I tried that I got lazy and just posted what I had written and not thinking up the fresh content. (The idea was they were back up posts for when I got too busy).

So how do you organise your blog? Or your life for that matter? You see, blogging, doing chores it is all the same thing really. I remember deciding that thursday would be cake baking day. It lasted a week. I like to be organised, but impulsiveness will always win hands down. – and it is much tastier!

4 Responses to “Do you have a blog plan?”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I’ve started a few different post topics. These are all related to either my projects or my skills/interests. It helps broaden the horizon of readers to your blog. But if your blog is about one project, it’s hard to branch out. Perhaps group them into areas such as WIP progress, traditional vs self publishing, etc…

  2. Ellie February 1, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    I couldn’t attack your blog…well if I did it would be because I am envious of the way you do it! I read your post, along with several others in the same week, it did make me feel shameful, and then I laughed. I enjoy doing this, but I just don’t think I will ever have the real drive for it to be anything more than a ramble lol!

    • Jessica S February 1, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      LOL. Sure, sure. *wipes tears*

      At least you can think of things to ramble about that are entertaining. Besides, they all flow together chronologically in your quest for successful publication. Plus, you’re more diligent about posting than I am.

  3. Jessica S February 1, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Are you attacking my blog, Missy?

Leave a Reply

