Marchlands – what I have concluded

17 Feb

Some of you may remember my post a few weeks back about the new ITV series ‘Marchlands’.

I have spent further time researching this script, through reading the series synopsis, to reading the script for the american pilot. I have also spent time reading my way through the forums, searching for opinions, and anything else that is out there. And of course, I have watched.

I will not back track, the similarities between Marchlands, and my script are remarkable.

Initially I thought that it was proof that my idea was somewhat not good enough, it wasn’t remarkable enough. How could it be? Someone else had come up with it as well.

Er, no. check yourself. There is no such thing as an original idea. Actually I should be patting myself on the back. I had come up with something that was what programme producers were after. I had got it right, and maybe next time, if I do it again, I will have the time to make it sellable.

I only have a couple of months left at university, and yes I have many plans, but they can all be put on hold if i do have writing that I feel truly is worth pursuing.

As writers we should all be looking for future trends, so what should we be writing about next?

One Response to “Marchlands – what I have concluded”

  1. Carol Hoare February 18, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    That’s remarkably philosophical of you! According to Radio 4 this morning 7 out of 10 books are aimed at children now; apparently young people are reading more and more!

Leave a Reply

