Enhanced e-books

19 Feb

Enhanced e-books fascinate me. Namely because I haven’t yet figured out if we really need them.

OK, no I’m not sure that is what I mean. Let me start at the beginning.

Enhanced e-books can take many forms, from the inclusion of video, such as Russell Brands Booky Wook, to the interactive illustration of Alice.

Let’s consider these two examples, quite honestly, Russell Brand looking away from the camera, reading the text in front of me doesn’t really do much for me…it certainly doesn’t justify the price increase from the standard version. Yes there are videos of his old stand up but, who cares, I can get it all on you tube.

But then there is Alice, and example of what you can do is below (taken from you tube ha!)

Amazing right?

But did you know this is not technically an e-book? It is an app, just like so many others.

There are changes coming so this sort of compatibility will be within the e-books, but do we really need them?

From what I have seen, most of these types at this time, are children’s books. I am all for encouraging kids to read, but are you going to give your iPad to your child to read? At the prices they currently market at, I certainly won’t, and besides, there are plenty of other platforms to enhance children’s reads. Leapfrog, and Vtech are market leaders.

So tell me what you think. Have I got this all wrong, are enhanced books needed, what do you want to see?

5 Responses to “Enhanced e-books”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Better than tv, but worse than a book…fills that creativity gap. By doing this, is limits the creativity that an individual may be able to drum up later on in life. I try to avoid tv as much as I can so that I can keep my creative mind working! I would much rather listen to music!

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      Thank you Submeg for reminding me of all these posts that were completely forgotten. My son loves his bokks, he loves dancing, and he loves TV. I guess I got lucky. Interestingly thought, given the opportunity, the TV goes off and he is on my iPad – yes, I handed it over to the three year old!

  2. Carol Hoare February 20, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    It looks very pretty, but seems more of an “entertainment” than a “book” – not that books shouldn’t be entertaining. I think that a book should allow lots of room for the reader’s imagination to ‘fill in’ the scene for themselves, otherwise it is just a video of someone else’s ideas.
    Sorry for all the inverted commas.

    • Ellie February 20, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      I think you are right – but then for kids, their books are mostly illustrated, so this is just taking it up a level. Plus, wouldnt this be better than tv?

      • Carol Hoare February 21, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

        Better than TV – yes, apart from that I stand by my comments!!!!!

Leave a Reply

