Do you have a Pseudonym?

3 Mar

In my last post about social networking, I questioned if the work life crossover was suitable for me, you, us.

Isabella commented and said how she had a Twitter and Facebook account in her pen name. A pen name!

OK  a pseudonym (pen name) is nothing new, but I wondered why I hadn’t seriously considered this option myself. being as nosey as I am (i see this as my right as a writer -how can you have well-rounded characters if you don’t pry into the workings of other people) I asked, ‘why?’

This is where I slapped my head.

Sometimes I really don’t think my brain works as it should. You see, among other reasons, Isabella has changed her name to protect her family, and as she says, ‘I feel more free and able to write the erotic scenes that the “pretty” girls would make fun of me in high school for, wondering if I even know what sex was!’

Ah yes, the erotic scenes. Well forget about protecting the family, how about protecting me from them reading those scenes and I knowing it is my work. Weirdly enough, earlier today I missed a creative writing lecture where my friend had to share an almost intimate scene with the rest of the group. I feel his embarrassment, I really do. If I can get away with it my stories don’t even have kissing – I think I may need to get a grip and grow up.

But you know what, I think if my work warrants it, then maybe a pen name is the way to go. Maybe I would feel more free as a writer if it wasn’t actually me writing it. Does that make sense?

How many of us actually think about our reader audience in terms of those we know? Do we sensor our work to suit what our ‘loved ones’ would deem proper?

Would love to know your thoughts – do you have a pseudonym? If so, why?

14 Responses to “Do you have a Pseudonym?”

  1. submeg October 30, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I do have a pen name; however, I use it for all my projects. It is submeg. The reason I like it is because it is different, it’s easy to say and sounds intriguing. What does it mean? Check out this post, it explains it all –

    http://submeg.com/2010/06/05/s-u-b-m-e-g/

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      I like it – bit of history with the twist of who you are today!

  2. dwwriter July 7, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    I plan on using a version of my current name and (hopefully) married name. I never thought of erotic fiction, although now that I think about it I’m not sure I’d want my name out there for that. I guess we all need to grow up a little. 🙂 I do have some romatic-ish scenes in my WIP, however, the love interest isn’t interested so mostly it’s just her reactions to him, which I don’t mind writing it, and it doesn’t crowd out everything else in my work.

    • Ellie July 7, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      In the short time since I wrote this I have entered the realms of a romantic possibility with my protagonist. It has been easier to write than I expected so I kinda feel more comfortable about it.

      Oh and hey – fingers crossed for the use of the married name!

  3. Nicole March 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    I loved this post. I’m looking for a pen name because my last name is impossible for people to say correctly and its really long. Its hard to find a pen name because I don’t want something too different. I have a list already of last names I like. Now the hard part is choosing.

    You have also reminded me of intimate scenes. I hadn’t planned on writing any, but I might need to work some kind of romantic excitement in at some point.

    • Ellie March 13, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      Definitely let us know what you choose – then we will know it is you when we see your work!

  4. aarongraham March 6, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    Hey Ellie,

    I was going to email this to you, but I could not find your email addy.

    I’m about to self-publish with Amazon and/or with Barns ‘N Noble a collection of Short Stories called “Tales From the Imp and the Ogre” which is a series of stand alone scenes that take place as characters come in and out of this fantasy tavern: “The following is a collection of conversations you are welcome to eavesdrop on as characters drown their misery in beer around the dirty tables of the “Imp and the Ogre.” Pour yourself a flagon and listen in if you like, but watch your pockets. Thieves just love to pick them when you least expect it.”

    I also have a Children’s book I wrote for my daughter that I also plan to self publish on either of those two distributers as well as soon as I finish the artwork.

    I have a 115 K word fantasy novel I’ve been tossing out to agents on and off again for about 6 months. I have another 100,000 more words that is a strong foundation for book 2 if I can ever get representation. We’ll see…if I have even marginal success with my short stories on my own I might just self publish my novel as well.

    We’ll see. The future is exciting and bright for authors.

    Oh, as far as not being able to find me on Facebook that is odd. You can narrow it down with “Aaron D Graham Texas” if that helps, or you can give me your Facebook name and I’ll see if I can hunt you down in reverse.

    In either case, as soon as my Twitter is up and running, I’ll let you know.

    Do keep in touch.

    • Ellie March 7, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      Ok i think I have found you on Facebook so fingers crossed. If it is you i shall send you a message about your publsihing plans. Btw, for future reference my email is chat@elenaransley.com

  5. aarongraham March 6, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    Hey Ellie,

    I was going to email this to you, but I could not find your email addy.

    I’m about to self-publish with Amazon and/or with Barns ‘N Noble a collection of Short Stories called “Tales From the Imp and the Ogre” which is a series of stand alone scenes that take place as characters come in and out of this fantasy tavern. Each story starts like this: “The following is a collection of conversations you are welcome to eavesdrop on as characters drown their misery in beer around the dirty tables of the “Imp and the Ogre.” Pour yourself a flagon and listen in if you like, but watch your pockets. Thieves just love to pick them when you least expect it.”

    I also have a Children’s book I wrote for my daughter that I also plan to self publish on either of those two distributers as well as soon as I finish the artwork.

    I have a 115 K word fantasy novel I’ve been tossing out to agents on and off again for about 6 months. I have another 100,000 more words that is a strong foundation for book 2 if I can ever get representation. We’ll see…if I have even marginal success with my short stories on my own I might just self publish my novel as well.

    We’ll see. The future is exciting and bright for authors.

    Oh, as far as not being able to find me on Facebook that is odd. You can narrow it down with “Aaron D Graham Texas” if that helps, or you can give me your Facebook name and I’ll see if I can hunt you down in reverse.

    In either case, as soon as my Twitter is up and running, I’ll let you know.

    Do keep in touch.

  6. Charlotte March 4, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Really interesting topic. I’ve thought only vaguely about it before.

    I can certainly see the sense of wanting to protect one’s privacy and I think that would weigh with me if it ever became an issue. I suppose I intend to keep writing under my current name, which will in the (hopefully not too distant) future become my maiden name as opposed to my married.

    The other issue for me, though, is some indecision about genre. I write fantasy at the moment but I intend to write historical fiction as well. The best thing to do there, undoubtedly, is to write novels in those two genres under different names. Choosing the names might be tricky but entertaining…

    Btw I agree with you entirely about the discomfort of intimate scenes. I too need to get a grip and grow up!

    • Ellie March 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Yeah but then we would have to admit we are getting older, a little bit of silly giggling is good for the soul!

  7. aarongraham March 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    EXCELENT post! I’m curious to see what others may have to say on this subject. Personally, I want to network using the name that will be on my books. I want Aaron D. Graham to be associated with my posts, my face book, and coming soon, my Twitter Account. (Alas, I don’t have one up and running yet) From my point of view, I want my audience to know me. I do protect my family through another facebook page that is locked up with pretty high security settings, but my public persona is very open. I was tempted to use a pen name for awhile, but in the end, I couldn’t really see much of a point.

    Now, if I wrote erotica fiction, I’m sure I would use a different name all together.

    Ellie, what do you normally write?

    • Ellie March 4, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      I write detective crime and mystery, with a dabble in YA fiction (mostly mystery on this part). To be honest, I give anything a go but these are the ones that come most naturally.

      How about you?

      I use my maiden name for writing – not that it is that much different, my married name is just hyphened on the end. I love my surname, Ransley, so no I don’t want to hide it! – If I wrote erotica tho, like you, it would be something very different. But as I don’t, and I never will, I don’t have to worry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stats watching…the questions it makes me ask. « Reading, writing and the bits inbetween - April 25, 2011

    […] I have just been having a look through my most popular blog posts. The one that surprises me most is the one in which I asked, ‘Do you have a pseudonym?’ […]

Leave a Reply

