E-Publishing costings

11 Mar

I have been in a bit of a quandary recently. Many people, actually loads, are discussing which company to use to self publish their e-book. But who is the best, how much will it cost?Having not used them, I couldn’t say who is the best, but I have compiled the price list.

This is in fact a chart that will be within my book, ‘The Simple Guide to Publishing,’ so see yourselves as getting a sneaky preview of what you can expect. Oh, and if off the back of this information you decide to take the plunge, buy my book first! It shall be available to buy within the next 3-4 weeks (give or take). Sorry, that is really rude of me.

If you think it needs expanding on, please do let me know. Likewise if you need further clarification just give me a shout – the formatting has messed this up a bit but I just can’t get the chart to work properly on WordPress.

Please do let me know your thoughts!

PUBLISHER LISTINGS CHARGES RESTRICTIONS




Smashwords iBookstore You will receive between 60-65% of your

Barnes & Noble listed price, depending on the retailer.

Sony


Kobo


Diesel e-bookstore


Smashwords own store





Bookbaby iBookstore Currently $99 for formatting and

Barnes & Noble distribution, plus $19 for ISBN.

Sony A yearly fee of $19 also applies.

Amazon Kindle





Bibliocore iBookstore $150 per title for the first year. A $50 fee You will need to supply own


each year there after, if wishing to renew. ISBN.




Libre Digital iBookstore Email direct for a custom quote** Must be a publishing company



(can be authors own), and will



need to supply ISBN



US &Canada only




Ingram iBookstore Email direct for a custom quote**




PubIt Barnes & Noble You will receive between 40-65% of your Require a a valid U.S.


list price, depending on your selling price. Bank Account, U.S. Credit Card,



and U.S. Tax ID




Kindle Digital Platform (KDP) Amazon Kindle You will receive between 35-70% of your


listing price, depending on your royalty


choice. Subject to publishing requirements.




Inscribe Digital iBookstore Email direct for a custom quote**

Amazon Kindle


Sony


Barnes & Noble


Kobo


Borders


BooksOnBoard





*There are many other e-publishing providers, but these are the most commonly used within the UK and US.


** Contact was made requesting a figure but parties declined to give a guide price


3 Responses to “E-Publishing costings”

  1. mark050688 November 18, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I know this website provides quality depending articles or reviews and other material, is there any other web site which provides such information in quality?

  2. Stephen Hu November 15, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    $author, great information! Learnt a lot from it….

  3. Jason May 8, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Hi Ellie,

    I am a Business student from the National University of Singapore. For one of my projects, students are required to setup an online website, and see how well they could market their websites online.

    The website I’ve set up is located at http://bookreviewssite.net

    I am looking for content-related and well-established websites who are willing link to me, in order to increase my site’s credibility. This is one of the criterias for which we will be assessed.

    I feel that your website, elenaransley.net is a respected website in the field with regards to book reviews, and I was wondering if we could exchange links. In addition, your site gave me loads of inspiration to set up my own related site, and it would be an honour to exchange links with you.

    If you would like to exchange links, do reply to me at teochunrui@nus.edu.sg informing what is the anchor keyword and URL you would prfer me to link to.

    Thank you in advance for your precious time

    Regards,
    Jason

Leave a Reply

