Converting in process

4 Apr

So the day has finally come. The uploading the body of my text and cover to create my very own e-book is happening now.

I have actively been avoiding this blog, not wanting to admit to the delays, and the obvious mistakes I kept walking into. Not that I didn’t know they would present themselves, just that I had decided it wouldn’t happen to me…I have always had, and always will have totally unrealistic expectations.

So what has been going on?

Well I have been rubbish really. I am the first to admit this, and there are no excuses. I take on everything I do through choice, and expect to be successful (unrealistic expectations). Quite honestly failure is not an option. So what happened? I think I burned out. Not completely like unable to get out of bed, but I lost all capabilities of focus. It was not totally unexpected. I have too much happening in my life now, hands up, I admit it!

Luckily for me, once again Jessica S. stepped in after the formatting nightmare, and gave me another helping hand. My husband then sorted a lot of tidying up. I was finally ready to upload, when it occurred to me that I still had issues with the copyright and final blurb (as in it hadn’t been written). I also hadn’t written my bio, or the book description.

Today all of it was finally completed. After hours worth of consideration, I opted to use Smashwords. I completed the boxes, uploaded the image and text, and allowed my finger to hover over the publish button. It felt like the moment should be massive.

Ha.

I pushed the button to be told I am 549 in the queue, at the time of writing, 85 minutes after having hit publish, I am now 261 in the queue.

What I am waiting for is the file to be converted to the different formats that is required for each ereading device. But at this moment, I can’t even say 100% that the conversion will be successful. I can only keep my fingers crossed.

I shall expand on all of this over the coming days and weeks, why certain choices have been made, what was easier or more difficult than anticipated.

For now, I shall continue watching my Smashwords counter as we await the conversion of A Simple Guide to Self-Publishing.

8 Responses to “Converting in process”

  1. startingoveringermany April 5, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hi Ellie, I mention to Jessica “you must remember your human not a program robot that function without a glitch. The most important thing is that you have finish. For that I just want to say congrats!”

    For me this is what is important. So many people talk about doing and never get around to certain things or never finish it. You have finish doing what you set out. It does not matter how long it took. Only that you got there:) So pat yourself on the back young lady and congrats!

    • Ellie April 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      Oh thank you – and thank you to taking the time to comment.

      Yes it is an achievement, and I am happy, but just as soon as you tick one box another one comes along…

      Anyway, I shall be taking a break for a while, just reading the title for this post tells me I need a break..what is wrong with it?

      Thats when you know it is time to take a break. You know there is an error, but where, why and how just can’t be figured!!

  2. Ellie April 5, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Why Thanks Jessica!!

    A. M. Kuska – Before I had even had a full nights sleep Jessica emailed me to let me know some errors, so I still have some work to do.

    Have you sent your work out to anyone to read through? It is such a relief to have your work read and errors pointed out. You can then implement them and read one last time…to find more errors. I don’t think it ever really ends.

    Good luck with yours – you will get there…soon. Just don’t get disheartened!!

    • Jessica S April 5, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      You can edit yourself crazy. That’s for sure. LOL

  3. Jessica S April 5, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Congrats! I’m buying a copy right now.

  4. A.M. Kuska April 4, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Well it’s over now. You’ve done it! I only wish I could say the same for myself. I keep combing through my e-book “one last time” and finding 10 more errors. *sigh*

    Good luck to you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Converting in process (via Reading, writing and the bits inbetween) | The Write Shadow - May 7, 2011

    […] NOTE:  I reposted this from my friend Ellie.  Her eBook is now available to buy, and I thought a lot of you may be very interested in it’s subject matter.  Go on over there, check it out, and say hi.  You can tell her I sent you.  So the day has finally come. The uploading the body of my text and cover to create my very own e-book is happening now. I have actively been avoiding this blog, not wanting to admit to the delays, and the obvious mistakes I kept walking into. Not that I didn’t know they would present themselves, just that I had decided it wouldn’t happen to me…I have always had, and always will have totally unrealistic expectations. So what has been going on? W … Read More […]

  2. Converting in process (via Reading, writing and the bits inbetween) « Jessica S. - April 5, 2011

    […] Converting in process (via Reading, writing and the bits inbetween) By Jessica S So the day has finally come. The uploading the body of my text and cover to create my very own e-book is happening now. I have actively been avoiding this blog, not wanting to admit to the delays, and the obvious mistakes I kept walking into. Not that I didn't know they would present themselves, just that I had decided it wouldn't happen to me…I have always had, and always will have totally unrealistic expectations. So what has been going on? W … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

