I broke the rules.

9 Apr

This week I have officially broken every rule that ever was about self-publishing. Whoops!

I may regret this later, but for now, I am just content with the fact that I have as good as finished my assignment that is due in on Monday. Let me explain.

Last Monday night, as many of you will know, I uploaded ‘A Simple Guide to Self-Publishing’ to Smashwords. As I write my post, the book was in a converting queue. I eventually gave up waiting and went to bed.(I will discuss this in a post this week – bear with me please!)

On Tuesday, we discovered that the chart, which we always knew was tricky, had not converted properly, but the book was available to buy. I quickly told people don’t buy it – I am dealing with it!

It is now saturday night and despite having uploaded another version the chart still isn’t working. As I type this, my husband is still trying to work it out.

During this week, instead of talking to people, I have been busy working in the library on my assignment. Last Monday, my Mum had arrived to look after the kids all week whilst I tried to catch up with uni work following weeks of childhood illness’.

As I was leaving for the library on Tuesday morning, I glanced at the calendar and realised that one of my assignments, was due in a week earlier than anticipated (this Monday). So yes, Mum was here, but rubbish, I would have to work solidly on a single assignment. I never do this! I never leave an assignment so late either!

What has happened to me?

In my shock at being so rubbish, I literally did work non-stop and avoided posting on this blog, or spending too much time fiddling with formatting because I just couldn’t afford the distraction.

My apologies.

Anyway, assignment is complete. Fingers crossed the chart will be sorted today (?). I shall be in touch and will keep you informed of the progress – as well as fill in the gaps in more depth in future posts this week.

Thank you for bearing with me whilst I muddle through.

(Oh, and just to let you know there will be some random posts appearing this week as I upload posts to fit an assignment and not the specifics of this blog!)

2 Responses to “I broke the rules.”

  1. Ellie April 10, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Thanks Laney! The re-upload didnt work again but I kinda figure that each stumbling block is a learning curve

  2. Laney April 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    You’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

