Traditional Publishing – Where do we start?

11 Apr

Everyone at the moment is constantly talking about self-publishing and how easy it is. They lie, I tell you. They lie!

No seriously, one of the first things I talk about in A Simple Guide to Self-Publishing is that it is not easy. anyone who says it is either hasn’t done it, or doesn’t like to admit to having to work hard to fulfil a dream. Well, OK, some people get lucky but they will certainly be the minority.

Anyway, I am not writing todays post about self-publishing. Today, I want us to consider the traditional route of publishing. How do you go about it?

How much do you need to write of a novel? What do you send to an agent? Do you even need an agent? How do I find their contact details? These are just a few questions that I think should be answered.

This post will not do that.

No, this post is to tell you fabulous people that I intend to start writing about the stages of approaching a publisher. Unlike my earlier posts of unfulfilled promises, this will happen (I fully intend to fill those promises at some point – promise). It has to. I need the answers as well, plus, it will be helping me to complete part of my creative writing portfolio. (I have to include the first three chapters with synopsis and letter etc totalling 10,000 words).

But as much as I have an understanding of the process, I am not stupid enough to think I know it all. I would love to hear your suggestions of things that need confirming. What myths have you heard? What have you experienced? If we can explore this together, it may not seem such a daunting prospect. As for those who say publishers are on their way out – as if!

Drop me a comment, I would love to hear from you.

(By the way, no the chart upload thing still hasn’t worked (see last post), and those random blog posts for my assignments have slotted within past posts so haven’t shown up as new. However, I have written some articles that I may upload just to show I can diversify my writing – honest!)

7 Responses to “Traditional Publishing – Where do we start?”

  1. Laney April 15, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Honestly, the whole process is daunting! I’m trying to stay focused on finishing and then I’ll move into the whole query stage…scary!

  2. amkuska April 12, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    How much do you need to write of a novel?

    The whole thing, unless you’re Stephen King, in which case a note scrawled in blue crayon on a napkin is probably good enough.

    What do you send to an agent?

    What ever the submission guidelines say for that agent.

    Do you even need an agent?

    If you want to go to the top, yes. The big 6 don’t generally accept unagented submissions.

    How do I find their contact details?

    Um…writer’s market?

    That’s my answers anyway. ^^ Did I pass?

    • Ellie April 12, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      Yes! lol!

      Except you don’t need to write the full novel! Just the first few chapters or so with a tight synopsis should be enough.

      Submission guidelines are funny things. What do you include in that letter, how long should the synopsis be? These are the things I want to explore. There are no definitive answers, but definitely some more informative answers would be good!

      And personally I love the writers handbook….every contact for every type of writing!

  3. Kati Bartkowski's storysketches April 11, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I hope to be starting the stages of trying to go through traditional publishing soon. I hope I just have one last draft before I begin that process, and I’m super nervous about the query stage. Being able to read about other writers going through the same process will hopefully help with that.

    • Ellie April 12, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Thank you for dropping by Katie and thanks for your comment.

      No need to be nervous – if it is good enough, you should recieve a repsonse. But getting that response is the next hard part, and that is what I hope to try and acvhjieve by breaking it all down!

      keep in touch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just stopping by… « Reading, writing and the bits inbetween - April 22, 2011

    […] wrote last week about looking at how to go about traditional publishing so I am looking at various agents and the needs of each. I want to show a small breakdown of how […]

  2. Bit of a ramble on various things.. « Reading, writing and the bits inbetween - April 14, 2011

    […] Reading, writing and the bits inbetween HomeReading ListWhat it’s all about… RSS ← Traditional Publishing – Where do we start? […]

Leave a Reply

