Just stopping by…

22 Apr

After over a weeks break, I feel I should just drop in and say hello.

You all know my schedule, so I will not go on about it, but do know, in three weeks, it will all be done and I hope to fully submerge myself into my writing and ‘connecting.’

But do not think because I haven’t been here I have not been thinking about future posts and where I hope to start making changes. I have taken some advice on how to make the blog work better, as well as how to get Twitter working for me. Having said that, my followers seem to have increased by enough in the last couple of weeks for me to be happy with the effort I am putting in.

I wrote last week about looking at how to go about traditional publishing so I am looking at various agents and the needs of each. I want to show a small breakdown of how this works. The research definitely benefits me and passing on anything I find useful has to be a winner right?

The guide will finally be ready next week to be put forward for Amazon and itunes (yay!). In the meantime I have set up a page on Facebook so please do come and ‘like’ the page for updates of whats happening. Again, if I am honest I have set it up and probably won’t be adding content until I am ready to give it my full attention – but if you find me, you will at least be the first to know when it is updated.

For the reviews on this site, I have at least three books waiting to be listed. Only problem is I have now passed on two of them because they were too good to hang onto. I will still write a piece on each but I do like to still have the copy in my hand when I am typing.

I am very much aware of how much my blog in recent times has become a repetitive ‘I’. I hope to address this as well. At the end of the day, I am writing the posts, much of what I write is about what I am doing, what is moving me forward, but without you guys, there is no point in writing. All the time I am banging on about me, your attention is drifting. I will make this blog much more entertaining soon, honest! (If you have any tips on variation at this moment in time my brain could really do with a kick-start!)

For now, I am taking a long weekend break, and may finally get round to reading the last three issues of the writers magazine that I have had sat looking very forlorn on the side.

I hope you enjoy your Easter weekend and eat plenty of chocolate. I for one wont be eating that much – I hate it when chocolate is soft, and in weather like this, even from the fridge that chocolatey goodness doesn’t taste quite right. Thinking BBQ Sunday instead of our traditional family turkey, but we will wait and see. As I say, I am taking the weekend off and I haven’t yet decided if cooking also falls into this bracket.

So that’s the end of another bits and bobs blog post. It might be another week before I return again so please leave a comment to say hi. It may just spur me on a bit more.

(Oh yeah, and just as an after thought, what do you think of guest blogging? This was something that was put to me, along with leaving subtle links in comments, as a way of driving more traffic. Both of these are something I am not entirely convinced on, but everyone does it…do you? Give me a hand in, would you recommend it?)

8 Responses to “Just stopping by…”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    I think guest posting is a good idea, as it allows you to branch out to others and link with other like minded people. Would love to have guest posts on my blog!

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

      You should do it then! I imagine many people would love you to host them, especially with such a diverse readership.

  2. Laney April 25, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Great points as always. You keep me thinking…

  3. Ellie April 23, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Ha ha jessica you make me laugh…I thought you had a new pic lol! Shall indeed send you an email. I think I should just pay you to be a permanent advisor…Carol (Fifalde), it should be Jessica writing the guides, she is amazing at what she does and has a tremendous following, you should check out her blog for sure!

    • Jessica April 24, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      Don’t be silly. I’m just a talker; you’re the one who actually gets things done! I look up to YOU now, silly. 🙂

  4. Jessica April 23, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    I would definately comment on others blogs for the linkback, but as long as you update the website associated with your name and your gravatar, that should be all the link you need. Mention the contents in your book casually. However, if when you start putting links in your comments, you’re more often to be caught up in someone’s spam filter.

    Google likes consistant posts (leaving off Saturday and Sunday are fine though). So, guest posts are great as long as they are relevant. Search engines don’t care who the author is, and readers will still love you as long as you are offering them good content. I suggest always starting out your guest posts with a little intro by you and a conclusion/reaction by you, just to keep it personal.

    As far as driving more traffic to your blog by social networking, send me an e-mail. I’ll give you more tips and tricks that I use for my blogging clients. Sound good?

    • Jessica April 23, 2011 at 3:48 am #

      Whoops. Linked that to the wrong gravatar image. LOL

  5. FIFALDE April 22, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    This gets better and better. What about “An Incredibly Easy To Follow Guide to Blogging” next?

Leave a Reply

