Stats watching…the questions it makes me ask.

25 Apr

Image from Laughingsquid.com - Obv stats this high are not mine!!

I have just been having a look through my most popular blog posts. The one that surprises me most is the one in which I asked, ‘Do you have a pseudonym?’

What made this one different to others? did I tap into a subject that many people ponder? Maybe, but to be honest, I have no idea. Comparing the most successful posts there doesn’t seem as if they have much in common between them. My post in which I showed the increase in e-book sales is also a popular post. It has never received any comments, just the one like, and I have certainly not received a direct email about it. But it does tell something, so maybe that is the key.

But is it? scrolling to the bottom of the list there are posts that I am immensely proud of which have received just one view, just one! And I know who that would have been. Why did these lack interest? Was it because were written in the early days? Was it the title?

I am thinking I may rehash these posts with little interest. More than anything I wonder if revised they may hold more appeal to my existing readers, or even bring in a new audience.

Do you do this? Do you study your stats and consider each response? Do you re-write past posts for fresh eyes?

17 Responses to “Stats watching…the questions it makes me ask.”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    5000! Damn!

    Posting comments on other blogs seems to be key. I guess for me it’s been a bit easier with the fact that I have many different topics that I post about and so I’m able to pull in a different crowd. The next tricky thing to conquer is – how do you get readers to explore your blog? Any ideas?

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      Well…you have just read pretty much my entire blog so what made you spend so much time here? Posting comments by far is key, my stats shoot up when I get the time to dedicate to that but as laways it is just that, time. Once I have read the blogs I follow at best I get chance to read a couple of other blogs each eveing. In this world of thousands of blogs, it just doesn’t seem to be enough.

  2. Ellie April 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    What? You mean to say there was a purpose behind the blog????

    Thats what I have to remind myself all the time. Im constantly thinking about what needs to go on the blog. Reaching 5,000 followers is scary, I mean, I have only just got over 100 followers on twitter, and thats taken well over six months!

    • Laney April 28, 2011 at 12:39 am #

      Imagine that!

      Me too! It’s very distracting. Good job on Twitter. I haven’t ventured in that direction yet, it’s hard enough to stay focused with just the blog.

      • Ellie April 28, 2011 at 9:19 am #

        Oh I know, and I do twitter all wrong lol! But if you set up your account quite quickly your readers will find you, plus you can tweet your blog posts so you should eventually bring in more readers that way.

  3. Laney April 27, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    I watch my stats as well. Some of my older posts I have considered revamping. Simply because I found them useful and with my readership growing, perhaps others would as well. I do occasionally go through and revamp the tags and links of older posts to broaden the net.

  4. Jessica S April 25, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I’m always watching my stats, too. I’ve decided that the ones I’m immensely proud of that never really get much attention are a result of writing for myself rather than for others. I notice that when I write a post (as you did this one) about others in general, those get more attention. The posts I’m proud of hit home personally some how–whether because I like the writing style, I think the advice is to die for, or just because I think I had some greatly unique epiphany. It’s always the ones that I just kind of whip together and say, “There. I posted,” that really get the views and responses.

    • Ellie April 26, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Definitely! The posts that take the most consideration seem to hold the least appeal it would seem.

      Still, it is very disappointing. I wrote several posts about combatting writers block, a regular subject for others who are suffering from it. I really considered what I was writing, and thought it would make a great regular feature, but it completely fell flat on its face. Having said that, it is these very posts I should use to draw in readers when I read others worries.

  5. Charlotte April 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I end up studying these things more than I probably should. The problem with considering which posts are more popular is that, as time goes on and your general readership grows, it’s hard to compare recent posts with old ones. If you posted some of those early ones now, they’d almost certainly generate a much higher readership, and it wouldn’t necessarily have anything to do with the post itself. Just that more people are visiting your blog.

    That said, I have puzzled over trends that don’t make much sense. One of my most popular ones was the novelist’s war chest, about the writing routines and props we all use to keep ourselves going. It was a rather casual post, but it inspired a storm of comments. Maybe it’s because it was quite a direct and personal question to each reader, and everyone had an immediate answer to make. Beyond that I can’t explain it!

    I wonder about re-posting some of the early ones I liked best. I haven’t decided yet whether it would be a good idea, though.

    • Ellie April 26, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      I follow a blog where the author will take holidays from writing, and use this time to repost past discussions. Kinda cheating but it was very effective – well i thought so anyway. I hadn’t read many of the posts so, for me, it was really interesting.

      Let me know what you decide to do, and the outcome should you do it.

  6. Pearl's twirl April 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Hi Ellie,
    I just wrote the same thing… sort of
    http://rada55.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/stats-get-out-of-my-head-i-am-here-to-write/

    • Ellie April 26, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

      That is really freaky…great minds and all that!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Natasha McNeely April 25, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I do keep an eye on my stats, but I’ve noticed that you have to be the force that pulls the traffic to your posts. If you’re not, then very little will change.
    Commenting on other blogs is bound to cause people to find their way to yours; give and get in return. It may be a slow, tedious process, but in the end it will be worth it.
    Granted, I’m not exactly an expert on getting traffic, but it’s a generalized thing that helps with just about anything. Slow and steady wins the race.

    • Ellie April 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      You are absolutely spot on there! Although I have to remind myself this on a regular basis.

      I enjoy blogging, and it was never about the stats. Now it seems to be a race to have the most followers. Saying that, I was told that a publisher wants to know you have a minimum of 5,000 regular readers for it to be considered you have a readership. I think it was at that point that my heart sank and my analysis started to be obsessive.

      • Natasha McNeely April 27, 2011 at 9:26 am #

        I’ve heard the same thing, about publishers, that is. But one thing to keep in mind is that every publisher is different.
        Is it a good thing to have a lot of followers on a blog, facebook, twitter, etc? Of course, and no publisher will say no to you already having followers; it justs makes their lives easier.
        The best advice I can give is to keep writing, keep blogging and browse other blogs. It’ll be worth it and all you have to do to increase your followers is the things you enjoy.

      • Laney April 27, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

        5,000 !?! Yeah, I’d say my heart just sank too. Not to mention, I’m trying to stay focused on the actual reason I have my blog–my novel…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random thoughts on my blogging world « Reading, writing and the bits in-between - June 1, 2011

    […] me chatting about blog stats a few weeks ago? I was getting mildly obsessive, feeling like I had to check who was visiting […]

Leave a Reply

