Only three items for the desert island! You must be joking.

8 Jun

So, today is list day. A list of books, bands and films that I can return to . It is obvious from my list that having only three items to choose for the desert island could be a problem. (and this is only books/films and music – where would chocolate and my Clarins cream fit in?).

Let’s begin.

Films

10 Things I Hate About You

Legally Blonde

Jerry Maguire

My Best Friends Wedding

The Little Mermaid

Clueless

Love Actually

About a Boy

Musicians (Oh I hear you – ‘they’re not musicians’ – yes they are!)

Green Day

Blink 182

My Chemical Romance

No Doubt

McFly

Girls Aloud

The Killers

Songs

The Girl Next Door – Blink 182

Whatsername – Green Day

Mr Brightside – The Killers

Ashes – Embrace

Sweet Disposition – The Temper Trap

My Velocity – Maximo Park

Books from Boxes – Maximo Park

Little Lion Man – Mumford & Sons

Books

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold

PS I love You – Cecelia Ahern

Authors

John Grisham

Mary Higgens- Clarke

Ian Rankin

Jilly Cooper

(This list is off the top of my head and I have only allowed myself 24 hrs to consider if there is anything missing. I don’t think so, but you can guarantee when I hit publish all sorts of tracks/books will be coming to mind that I wish I had listed).

So, it is quite clear from my list that each area has its own flavour. Even my favourite books are not by my chosen authors. What about you? What would feature on your list?

8 Responses to “Only three items for the desert island! You must be joking.”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Great musicians there!

  2. Jessica S June 9, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    John Grisham?! Pluh. 😛 You need to upgrade to Steve Martini and Scott Turow. Their writing style is MUCH better. Grisham creates awesome stories that translates over into screenplays well, but he writes like a 5th grader. LOL. Okay, so that was probably a bit of an exaggeration, but still. If you like him, you’ll LOVE Steve Martini. 🙂

    My three items for desert island:

    1. Bible
    2. Journal (I’ll probably go crazy after a month, so I can just pretend my finger has ink on it.)
    3. One of those kids’ toys that look like a mini racket with a ball attached by an elastic string. LOL

    • Ellie June 9, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Oh yeah nice move. My son has one of those cup and ball toys that i spend hours playing with! Best present that I EVER bought him ha ha!

  3. bobcb518 June 9, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    If your 3 items were a computer, internet connection, and a credit card, then you could still have all of those other things. Just download them. That’s probably what I would do. Assuming that there is electricity on the island, of course. If not, then I would have to drop the credit card and make electricity the 3rd item. I could still watch and download all the free stuff.

    • Ellie June 9, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      The lack of electricity could be a problem if I consider my need for chocolate, what would I do about a fridge??

      Very clever idea about downloads but I do think it kinda ruins the fun…but then I don’t even download my music as I like to but a ‘proper copy’.

  4. Candice L Davis June 8, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    I’m afraid to even begin a list like this. What did you like about the film adaption of “The Lovely Bones?”

    • Ellie June 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      I have never seen the film adaptation. The book created wonderful images in my mind, which is why it is one of my all time favourites. I wouldn’t want a directors viewpoint to ruin the memory.

      • Candice L Davis June 8, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

        Understood. I wish I’d done the same.

Leave a Reply

