I took a holiday without technology

25 Jun

Well hello there. Sorry it has been so long. As most of you will be aware by now I have been on holiday, but I never intended to be away for so long, or to not at least let you know where I was.

So what happened?

Well per usual, when it comes to going away I go into overdrive. Not only do I plan the packing (starting several weeks in advance), I also insist the house is cleaned from top to bottom (including the oven), and the garden is looking immaculate. The problem is, I am not as organised as I like to think. The week before we left was the first week I had the children at home with me full-time (arrgh!). We were leaving on the friday evening, on the thursday evening I was out doing the gardening, and on the friday I ended up putting the kids into nursery for the afternoon whilst i washed and dried five loads of laundry, finished packing, loaded the car…I never got to mop the kitchen floor (shakes head sadly).

So what? Big deal..

Having the kids at home is a major effort. i applaud all stay at home Mums. I just do not know how they do it. Sure I can look after them, keep them entertained, keep up the house blah de blah, but I, the big fat me, gets lost in that whirlwind of toddler questions and constant demands. As a result, I don’t get to write, even tweet, as I would like. When the evenings come, I crash down and don’t have the motivation to get going again. This explains my lack of informing  my dear readers where I was going, and when I would return. I had the post all worked out, it was just never completed.

So your on holiday now?

Well no, not quite. When we left our home on the friday evening we headed down to Kent to my parents, a journey that takes around five hours on a good run. We arrived just gone midnight, which allowed us a few hours sleep before the baby woke and saturday would begin. As with all of our visits to Kent, Saturday was the first day of manic that fills every minute of a visit. We fly from one person to the next, desperately trying to fit in as many people as possible before we leave. All the time in the back of my mind I kept telling myself, when you get five mins…Before I knew it Tuesday had arrived and it was finally time to board the plane.

Yay, we are headed to Spain!

Thirty minutes into the car journey to the airport I realised I had left the Ipad, my portal to ‘normality’. I went through a mixture of emotions, but the most compelling one was relief. Relief to embrace the chance of reliving childhood. Remember the days when we didn’t carry electronic devices everywhere, and were contactable 24/7? Sat in that car I reached forward and took my Blackberry from my bag, switched it off, and for a full eight days made myself unavailable.

It was amazing!

I know, you were expecting me to talk about the heat, the endless hours by the pool, the beach, the food…Nope. You want a holiday, disconnect your phone and internet. Happy days! We visited many places, such as Cartagena, a Spanish port where the towns architecture transports you to a place only before found in your dreams. Not to mention Mar Menor (OK that is probably spelt wrong but I don’t want people flocking there anyway!). Beautiful coastline where the flamingoes bathe and you smear the healing mud across your skin, waiting for it to crack in the sun before swimming in the sea to finish your free beauty treatment. Would these places have been so great with my phone bleeping in my pocket? Probably, but I am glad that as I tucked into my tapas I hadn’t that distraction ruining my meal.

 

Dreaming of owning my own boat...then I remembered I got seasick. There was a catamaran boat ride that my son was desperate to go on but just watching it bounce up and down made me feel queasy.

But you logged on and left a brief message?

I blogged ‘still on holiday’ once we had returned to my parents. Although by this time the mobile phone  was on, and sure the internet connection was super speedy, I decided to indulge a little longer in my break. I logged on because it is part of our nature now to feel the need to be connected. I chose to limit my use because I knew it would be too easy to sit down and start the grind again.

And now?

I am back in grey and rainy Wales. I am missing the sunshine and watching my tan fade faster than the black clouds can run across the sky when I peg out the washing. I have so much reading to do it is unbelievable. Not only do I have two weeks worth of blogs to read and comment on, I had also spent a couple of hours carefully selecting my holiday reads for my Ipad. this is a mission still to be completed obviously. As well as this, i only had four paperbacks left to read before I left, my Mum has  now given me a carrier bag of good reading material so that is calling me also. The one thing I did manage to complete a large chunk of was editing of a friends first fourteen chapters. I did up to ten, so I must complete the last four by next week – when I am given up to chapter twenty-one (If he could please stop writing whilst I catch up…(I call it editing, not in the true sense, but this is the easiest way of explaining my ‘work’)).

I have so much more to add to this post, such as how my favourite tracks and novels etc as previously discussed has now much more to be added. It’s amazing how clear your brain becomes when you switch off. Likewise, on that post I was asked about the film The Lovely Bones, what did I think? I said I hadn’t seen it, didn’t want to see it…I’ve seen it! Rubbish, absolutely dreadful as I expected. However, it hasn’t ruined the novel for me, as I felt it shared very few similarities. On the plus side one particularly hot afternoon my son needed a break from the heat and we sat down to watch Mulan. Oh I LOVE that film! why doesn’t Disney make films like that anymore?

Anyway, I am sure I have bored you all rigid. I have missed you all dreadfully. How have the past few weeks been for you?

(I have attached a few images below for those of you that are interested – the best pictures by far have family members included and I have chosen to omit these, so it’s more of a make do, sorry).

There are many statues around Cartagena. This one in particular makes me smile as my son is still pondering how the statue had managed to get up and walk through the town from the bench where my son had sat and had his photo taken just a few minutes ago. His face was so filled with wonder I couldn't bring myself to tell him it wasn't the same one.

 
 

The best part about Cartagena was the variety of Architecture. You literally walked the centuries as you passed through the town.

 

This still sends shivers down my spine. Every evening as we sat on the porch outside the gecko's would scurry about - not knowing where they were all the time would drive me nuts.

 

My son just loves taking the camera and will spend hours taking photos. There were many surprises when we uploaded the pictures today, this was just one of them. So OK, it is just a lemon, but hey, it's not at all blurry!

 

This is the view from our apartment. It is also where the lemon tree was tucked away.

 

It was the babys first baby whilst we were away (My daughters first birthday, must stop calling her 'the baby'). Rather slackly we left it until late morning to venture out for a cake to celebrate the day. After visiting several shopping areas, we gave up and headed to the pattiserie by the beach. Now a custard doughnut might not work for everyone but Summer (that would be the babys name) enjoyed sticking her fingers in the custard and licking it all off. As great as the temptation was, I resisted doing the same!

 
 
9 Responses to “I took a holiday without technology”

  1. Ariana@Pearl's twirl June 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I envy you. Next time I go on any holiday I will “forget” my ipad too. Welcome back! Since you are back to reality now I will be looking forward to more of your posts. I bet you have a lot to write about since you are on the blog diet for a few weeks 🙂

    • Ellie June 27, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Well in that case I shall try my hardest not to disappoint! I have loads of ideas for posts, I’m bursting with them in fact, it is just trying to find the time to get them down on the page!

  2. Laney June 27, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    No wonder you were appreciating the quiet…away from technology and for a week at that! I’m jealous.

    What a wonderful trip, it looks and sounds like it was very well deserved. The trick now i suppose is balance between the noise and the silence;) Try to keep a little Spain everyday.

    Also loving the new theme. I too changed mine. Small things keep the motivation going. Glad you’re back!

    • Ellie June 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      You know for all that I enjoyed the silence, it is good to be back. It is strange how much I have come to depend on the interaction with you guys. I think I may have found people I genuinely like ha ha!

      The theme i am totally not sure about, I will keep on changing until it is right. I did spot yours and I like it very much!

  3. Alexis June 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Looks like you had a lovely vacation!

    And I’m not totally sure how mom-writers do it, either. I am staying at home with my 4 month old and so far, I have been able to write a page and a half of my book, a few blog posts, and absolutely nothing else. I will figure it out, though- I promise you. 😉

    • Ellie June 27, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      When you work out the secret formula please do share it! i think with a four month old you are doing remarkably well. I never get any writing done when the kids are about, just the evenings (once i have blogged, tweeted, done the dishes ha!), or if they are in nursery.

      • Alexis June 28, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

        I think I’ll get more done once he’s a little older. Right now he is attached to me at all times. He even tries to nap on me most days!

  4. Jessica S June 26, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Welcome back! I’d write more, but I need to get outside. Just saw your post and and had to say something. 🙂

    • Ellie June 27, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Awww I’ve missed you lol!

Leave a Reply

