It’s never too late to fulfill your dreams.

30 Jun

Have you ever done something that has totally blown your mind away. Achieved the impossible? Fulfilled the dream?

Let me tell you a story.

There was once a ten-year old girl whom upon learning she had failed her eleven plus, begged her parents to pay for her to go to the local all girls private school, or at the very least, appeal the result. Her parents said no, and that girl found herself attending the local secondary school, with a bunch of general idiots (too harsh but it is fitting) whom the girl and her best friend (now training a qualified doctor) said at best certain boys in the group would amount to bin men (not a role scoffed at these days).

Photo from before learning the results of the eleven plus.

At sixteen this girl signed up to the sixth form college, she would study leisure and tourism, after all, she did love her holidays. By the time her exam results came through, she had a confirmed place, and the worst results. That evening the girl cried, life just wasn’t fair. Finding new resolve the girl wrote in a small notebook:

* Go to uni

* Backpack around the world

* Do a parachute jump

Within the first two months of being in the sixth form, the girl had quit, having secured a job in a travel agents, and then quit that position to return to the sixth form. However, there was a problem. Upon working in the travel agent, the girl realised immediately that she did not want to work in that industry. A much more suitable approach would be to study business. Upon returning to the sixth form, the decision was taken out of the girls hands, she was to continue with leisure and tourism. Determined to succeed, the girl in her second year signed up to re-sit her GCSE maths, she was going to need that!

Having finally achieved the required grade in maths, and only securing a merit in the leisure and tourism (where there’s no heart…), the girl applied to four University’s. She would be a teacher.

That wasn’t meant to be. Without a place offered, the girl applied again to University through clearing, to secure a marketing course, returning to the idea of business once again. It was a well-known, rather valued University that accepted her on their course, but the girl was distracted, and did not enrol that September.

The girl found herself working mostly minimum wage positions, barely making ends meet. Her dreams were dead, the notebook lost and forgotten. She had created a massive hole for herself, and she would have to learn with making the worst decisions ever.

Or were they?

If you haven’t realised from the picture (oh it is awful I know – this was in the days before the veneers had been sorted), that girl was me. Fast forward ten years since that decision to not attend that course, and you are reading the words of a married woman, with two children a boy of three and a girl of one, and a degree, BA (Hons) Writing and Media Communications 1st Grade.

OK waving hands furiously here as the shock of the results is still buzzing.

That’s right, the girl who decided that to start uni at the age of 26, with a ten month old, and then thought, oh here’s a plan, have another child in-between semesters, got a first!!!

Normally, I would be a bit more gracious. Not shout out so loudly at my achievement, but this time, I will enjoy my moment.

I not only fulfilled my dream of going to university, I achieved more than I ever believed I was capable of. 

Now, just to start earning the money that will allow me to take a year out whilst I go backpacking…

Where first? (Click the image for site I have borrowed the image from)

(Oh, and the parachute jump? You can forget that.)

6 Responses to “It’s never too late to fulfill your dreams.”

  1. nykast27 June 16, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    I lost my girlfriend because I told her I still wanted to sing, a dream she thought I had given up on. She feels it will take time for me to be successful and said she can’t wait. Now all I have is my dreams, intact. I’m 27 and even though its really rough finding money to start recording my songs, I’m saving and holding on. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. alexlaybourne July 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Congratulations. This post is an inspiration to me, I never went to Uni, despite being accepted, and it is the biggest regret of my life. Now with three small children and living in a non-english speaking country I find myself in a corner, working a job I don’t like just to pay the bills. Your post has reaffirmed in my mind that things are possible, we just need to want it enough.

    Congratulations once again on a most amazing achievement.

    • Ellie July 1, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      Absolutely. If you want something enough, you can find a way to make it work, no matter what your circumstances are. I hope you find a way to get what you want.

  3. FIFALDE July 1, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Best yet Ellie!

  4. Candice L Davis June 30, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Love it! Life doesn’t always go as planned, but that doesn’t mean your new plan can’t lead to your same dreams. Congratulations!

    • Ellie July 1, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Thanks Candice. It is never too late to make a change, I am so glad I did.

Leave a Reply

