Is there a specific bit in-between?

1 Jul

I think it is time to start examining a few things within my life. This sounds major I know, and for the purpose of this blog, it really is.

Of late, my posts have not always been related to writing. Reading very rarely comes into it. As for the bits in-between, well they tend to stray somewhat from the bits they are supposed to be in-between.

So, today I am examining what should my blog be called?

OK, so that is a very broad question. As readers of my blog, I feel that you are probably the best people to tell me on where you feel my blog is headed, and hopefully, between us, we might be able to come up with a more suitable name.

So sure, I write the posts, but without you, it isn’t a blog. I think the first place we need to begin at is what are the posts you find most enjoyable. What would you like to see more of?

By creating a more defined direction, then a title could be narrowed down.

Words that we know will categorically be avoided within the title include:

* procrastination (this word offends me on so many levels. I think it is because of some certain bloggers that like to throw the word around as if it is exclusive to them).

* muse (I don’t understand the obsession behind this, can we as ourselves not be simply inspired? Or have I just misunderstood the use of this word?)

* coffee (or anything linked to coffee. It is not exclusive to writers).

I have others I would add, but now is not the time for my top ten words that really bug me. Actually no, lets chuck gatekeepers in there for good measure. I am not even convinced an explanation is required behind that one.

So, come on then, share your thoughts. I am open to all ideas, and actually the banished words should you be ahead and have already come up with a title could be used if it was really good. Oh, I am so fickle!

9 Responses to “Is there a specific bit in-between?”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I think you made a good choice!

  2. Nicole Basaraba July 2, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    you could write “Elena Ransley’s Blog – Reading, Writing and the bits in between”. I had the same nervousness, but I read on Kristen’s blog, that people will find out who you are anyways, even if you use a pen name. And your URL is great. Your name gives your blog a “personality” and makes it easier for people to relate to your content. I know I always remember the person’s name when I read great posts. Also you are lucky and have a fabulous name. My last name is too hard for people to remember/spell.

    Your name on the blog itself makes it easier for people to remember if they want to search for your blog on another computer (not saved in their favorites on their personal computer) and then you can have a tagline like “Reading, Writing…” because it tells people what your blog posts will be about.

    Its just an idea, something to think about. No pressure.

    • Ellie July 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      I really have appreciated everybodys thoughts on this and I think I will chnage it to my name…soon.

      I think I need to choose a definite theme (I keep switching), and then change the name, do like a whole blog re-launch.

  3. Laney July 1, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Agree with Nicole on this one. I also follow Kristen Lamb. She has great advice on this exact subject. Check out her books and her blog. Granted…I’m still catching on to her advice. Transition takes a while. But that is the reason I changed my blog name to Laney McMann’s Blog. Did you notice?

    You need an author blog so you can write about things other than writing and capture readers who will *hopefully* be interested in YOU and want to buy your books. (again, something I haven’t mastered because I still talk about mainly writing.

    But you are an author. Readers need to know your name. (Yeah, that one was hard for me too;)

    • Ellie July 2, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      I did notice the change in your blog name Laney – about two minutes after I wrote this post. When did that happen?

      I guess I am pretty good these days about talking about everything – though believe it or not this blog is still heavily censored ha! The things I would love to write…

      You will get there – just like you have finished WIP 1!

  4. Ariana@Pearl's twirl July 1, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I love the name of your blog, the bits in between says a lot 🙂

    • Ellie July 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      So is the bits inbetween license to write about whatever I want?

  5. Nicole Basaraba July 1, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    How about “Elena Ransley’s Blog”. Then you can write about whatever you want because its your blog AND AND AND it will help you sell your book because people search for a book by author name. So much helpful information have I gleaned from Kristen Lamb’s blog.

    Just throwing that out there.

    • Ellie July 1, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      I know my URL is elenaransley.net, but to jump in with calling the blog by my name makes me somewhat nervous. I think I shall ponder on that one. I totally undertsand what you mean though!

Leave a Reply

