Horoscope link – or is it just like the chorizo?

10 Jul

Sometimes when things are happening in our life, we are more aware of similar things occurring around us. It can be that we are into a particular type of food, or something more momentous, such as pregnancy…suddenly something that never quite reached your radar is around you constantly.

Sticking with food as an example I will use chorizo. I LOVE chorizo. Given the chance I would use it in all my cooking.

I once spent over half an hour deliberating over which type of Chorizo to buy...well I was in Spain

It isn’t an ingredient I remember my Mum ever using, and it certainly wasn’t a commonplace addition to recipes when watching cookery programmes. About four years ago my addiction for the spicy sausage started, since then, if I haven’t got chorizo in, then it’s time to go food shopping. Baked Beans had always been the food to give me the thumbs up for the food shop – you should always have a spare tin in the cupboard!

On toast, potato, with your breakfast or just with chips, you can't knock Baked Beans

Anyway, I am getting off track, in the past four years it would seem everyone has started cooking with chorizo, and the TV chefs can’t get enough of the stuff. In my youth (ha), I would have said that this was all because I was a trend setter, I was running in front of the crowd. Now I accept it is because of my awareness.

Yesterday, it was my birthday. I am also aware of two other writers that had their birthday last week. Another writers birthday for sure has been or is due because they keep posting the Cancerian horoscope via twitter. So, my question is, is it coincidence that four of us (I know a relatively small number) are Cancerians? Or, is this in itself a sign?

Now I will just say I don’t ‘do’ horoscopes. That is to say I don’t check up on what my daily, weekly, monthly predictions are, but I do believe that there is something…how to explain?

I stumbled across this, just taking a short section it describes a Cancerian as;

While in a conversation, the facial features of a crab will change a number of times, displaying his numerous moods. He has a vivid imagination and at times will drown you in his moods too. Each and every experience affects him and gets engraved in his memory. Cancerians remember everything life has taught them and are true patriots. Past intrigues them and they love to collect antiques, old treasures and ancient relics. They are the perfect keepers of secrets and people automatically confide in them.

Now as I write this I already have a nagging voice (a real one) telling me this is a load of old rubbish. Well I don’t care, I am intrigued. I am not saying the description for a Cancerian fits me perfectly, maybe 80%, but it does seem strange that it is so close.

So writers, or lets broaden this to creative types, what star sign are you? Do you match the profile?

I return to the chorizo and will say again, it may just be that because it has been my birthday that I am aware of others around me that are also celebrating, but I wonder, is it something more? Are you a writer also celebrating your birthday within the Cancerian month? Is there a link?

6 Responses to “Horoscope link – or is it just like the chorizo?”

  1. Alfredo December 20, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back at some point. I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a nice day!

  2. Laney July 13, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Aries. And I do follow and read horoscopes. Not only mine, but others too. My profile is definately true to form–I’d say 90%. I think we draw like personalities to ourselves unknowingly. And some signs are much more compatible than others.

    I hear the nay-sayers. That’s fine. But I have seen it too many times to not to believe it’s true.

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      My sister does Tarot readings and that is taking it one step too far for me, but I would say it is more to do with a lack of understanding than a disbelief in its workings.

  3. alexlaybourne July 13, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I am a gemini, May 31st so a couple of weeks away from Cancerian territory but thas not too bad in a 52 week year.

    I agree with you, I don’t follow horoscopes or anything like that, but the description I read of a Gemini -somewhere I cannot remember – seemed to sum me up almost 100%

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      It is really strange how much so these ‘summaries’ represent us as people. I will never examine my horoscopes on a daily basis, but i think there is something to it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elena Ransley - July 29, 2012

    […] year following my birthday I wrote a post about horoscopes and chorizo. Being that time again, I feel it is time to embark on this pondering, especially in light of new […]

Leave a Reply

