Time to stop messing around and talk about the important stuff.

12 Jul

Well it would seem based on the lack of response that I was well off the mark with my post about horoscopes. Hands up, I knew it was a bit of a mad thought, but I was just curious.

Similarly, it would seem there isn’t too much interest in keeping a weekly diary of progress with your WIP. I guess there isn’t really much need what with #LifeListClub, #myWANA and the use of the #amwriting hash tags. I have also noticed many people using ROW80 so your needs are fulfilled. For me however, I need something else. so I shall from now on be posting once a week my progress. It is a chart for myself, and a detailed step by step guide for how  complete my work. Kind of a self-study of my writing.

So let’s begin with this weeks update.

I have written 3,000 words, and I am unsure of what to make of my process.

I generally write in a linear fashion. This week, I have bypassed chapters to get the emotion of each character on the page. This would be related to my choice of music at the moment. It has really allowed me to tap into my characters thoughts, and allowed me to describe the way those thoughts affect the way they behave. as a result, there are ‘bit’ chapters.

I have also jumped ahead as I had chapters planned in my mind that I just needed to ‘clear out.’ Thankfully this has paid off and I feel able to start working on the parts I am less sure of.

Finally, I have also secured images for my characters, Bev, Tom, Jessica and Doris. Once I get my hands on a decent scrapbook (I have a very specific type in mind), I shall show you how I am encompassing images to create visuals for both the characters and main locations.

I am unsure of what to make of my progress because it is like taking a leap into the unknown. I am changing the way I work. maybe it is because of limited ‘writing’ time, or maybe it is because I need to do more research, or just blow dry my hair more often for that oh so important thinking time. (I know its mad but my best ideas come when everything is blocked out by that noise).

So that’s my progress. Hope you have all done something productive this week.

8 Responses to “Time to stop messing around and talk about the important stuff.”

  1. Laney July 13, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Nothing wrong with jumping around on blog posts;) Keeps it fresh.

    I move around a lot when I’m writing and I generally don’t write in a linear fashion. I find that ideas jump out at me at odd times and so I write them down. This of course leads to needing to go in to the story at certain points and fill in or add to. I also write much more productively while listening to music (something I just wrote a blog post about) so I get that aspect entirely.

    Glad you are staying on track. I’m trying as well. The balancing act is tough, I know. Do what works for you–no rules are etched in stone other than ones YOU make;)

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Not sure evryone would agree with you Laney but I do ha!

      I have read some posts recently about writing rules and you are right, make your own. Charting my progress on the blog is helping me to stick to those rules and I find it quite exciting to know I have dedicated myself.

      I didnt see your post about music and writing. Send me the link please.

  2. Ariana@Pearl's twirl July 13, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Good for you! you really moving forward with your project!

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks for taking the time to comment – encouragement is what it is all about!

  3. gavhayes July 13, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Although all the hash tag stuff has gone straight over my head (you know how twitter-illiterate I am!), I think it’s important that you have found a ‘diary type’ that suits you. I’m very jealous – I’m too scatty at the moment and I think it’s great that you’re organised enough to say ‘I’m going to review my progress weekly/daily/whatever’
    Also, though I find it easier to write in a linear way, I can see how it might be beneficial to jump chapters. Sometimes that anxiety/excitement over writing a key future chapter can clog up your head and be detrimental to the build up. I’ve rushed through some potentially great moments just to get to a point I’ve been excited about writing!
    But the on the other hand, having a goal can also spur you on…
    Either way, changing the way you work can be good – I’m all for experimenting!

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      I am hoping it will just spur me on – i have to update each wednesday so at the very least, if I have done nothing by the tuesday evening it is time to get cracking! You’ll find your own thing soon enough, though I am not sure you need it – you amaze me at your dedication!

  4. FIFALDE July 13, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I was going to comment on your last post – it was VERY interesting. I heard a late night Radio4 programme a couple of weeks ago on “coincidence”/statistics/chance/prediction and which also mentioned the six degrees of separation theory. The reason I didn’t post was that I couldn’t remember the name of the programme of even which night it was on – still can’t, but didn’t want you to think your post was not interesting! It seems that life is not really as random as we would like to think but, in the broad view, the “stars” just don’t fit in at all.

    • Ellie July 14, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I’m sorry but I am not quite sure I am understanding what you/the programme is saying. What I will say, since writing the post, I have been thinking that we generally accept that the moon plays a role in moods etc, why are stars dismissed so rapidly? But no, in terms of reading regualr horoscopes, you won’t see me looking at Mystic Meg!

Leave a Reply

