My WIP update #2

20 Jul

This week has been really good. I have organised my work into files, the single word document I have added to was just getting too large. In doing so, I then find inspiration to write another two chapters.

The two chapters I wrote are nearing the end of the novel. Not that I am there yet. In the spirit of last weeks jumping around, I continued it. Who said linear writing was the way forward?

I have concerns about them however. They are quite intense, panic driven scenes, involving fire and death. I am not convinced I have captured the emotions, but plan to work on this over the coming week. Like I mentioned last week, music seems to be a driving force for moods, so, I need to find the right music to help formulate the words.

But, and this is the big but, I have to kill off one of the characters, Doris, at the end. Now I have never been bothered by this in the past, and until today, was quite convinced it was required. Today though, I realise I really like this Doris. To kill her off, will destroy another character, Levi, and I won’t be able to finish the book as I wish. I guess, it is not a decision I can fully make until I have written the in between chapters. It may be, that because todays writing has focused quite heavily on Doris and Levis relationship, I am feeling too connected.

Talking of Levi, I have not quite got the bravado on the page that makes him unpopular with the other characters. Again, music may help me get him strutting across the page.

Returning to the organisation of my work, I have looked at using one of the writing softwares that are available. I use a PC so Scrivener is not ideal. At the moment it is only available in a Beta version. So, do you have any recommendations?

4 Responses to “My WIP update #2”

  1. Laney July 21, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I’m all over the place with organization or lack thereof–my last post proves it. So I can’t help you there.
    As far as Doris is concerned, I’m still a believer of allowing your characters to lead you. Just because you had an initial plan for her doesn’t mean that plan can’t or won’t change during the course of writing. If the story is leading you in the direction of killing her off–well then, hack away. If it’s leading you somewhere else, then you should explore that avenue before making a decision. Just my opinions as usual:) Hope you’re well!

    • Ellie July 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      To be honest it is just me being a wimp. I have never been so soft with my writing as I am now. This one has like real soppy emotions….and romance. I just dont know what is going on!!

  2. blueghoul July 20, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Even if you like Doris, I’d say to kill her off anyway. Kill your darlings. Torture your characters. Feel free to throw them under the bus. And if Levi’s devastated by the death, that’s all the better. Adds just that much more emotion, that much more tension into the storyline. If they had a strong connection, a deep relationship, all the better to break it. (So long as the death made sense and was according to your plot and such rather than a random death.)

    As to writing software…Liquid Story Binder is a pretty good program in terms of organization. All the features do get distracting, though. If you’re looking for writing programs with little to no distractions, WriteMonkey is ideal. Best of luck to your WIP!

    • Ellie July 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

      Thank you, I shall check out that software – less distractions the better. One I did try was too complicated, i couldnt even figure out where you actually wrote lol!

      With regards to killing off Doris – you sound like me advising others. Break the connection, feel the pain…its going to be a tough one!

Leave a Reply

