Warning: This post includes frequent use of the passive voice

16 Sep

Well hello. How are you all? I feel todays blog post is more to those I have interacted with in the past year, than new readers. However, if this is your first visit, hello, and welcome.

Many of you will be aware that I was having a bit of a ‘I’m not sure about all of this moment.’ I am pleased to say, I think, I may be beyond this.

Let me say straight away, I haven’t started writing again. I wish I could say I have written another twenty chapters and well on the way to completing the first draft of the current WIP, but I haven’t and I’m not. To be honest, I don’t think I will be either for some time. There is good news though, my lost twenty or so chapters has been recovered and should be back in my possession sometime next week. Happy days! I am hoping once I read through the spark will be ignited again, but if it isn’t, I’m not worried. You see, I have learnt something really important over the past few weeks.

Firstly, we all know as writers we stop enjoying reading to a certain extent. How much so definitely depends on the person, for me, I wasn’t entirely sure I had lost my enthusiasm. Turns out I had. Clearing my brain of all my plotting and planning has really allowed me to open myself to the novels I read. There are some marvellous stories out there, and you know, the execution is important, but sometimes the analysis of this destroys the important part, the idea.

Writers destroy themselves on a daily basis worrying about getting all the bits right. Now I am not saying just sit and write, but maybe at times we should just go with the flow. Let the story tell itself and see what you get. You never know, you might just break an idea that once seemed concrete and create a new mould.

Replace the teacher with a publisher, and what do you have? A hopeful writer.

Not only do we worry about getting the bits right, we tell ourselves we must write everyday, or at least complete a set word count for the week. We impose targets on ourself that at times can seem impossible, and we mustn’t, no matter what, stop writing.

Well why not?

I know what you are thinking, I stopped writing and havent started again.True. But I will. Eventually. Maybe now is the not the time to write, or perhaps, writing isn’t for me. Time will tell, but I do know, I still want to be part of this industry.

Eh?

I am yet to meet someone in the ‘industry’ that doesn’t write. Editors write. Formatters got into it to support their writing. even the designers and proof readers are having a go. It doesn’t have to be the way. I guess it’s all about what you want. where you see yourself in ten years.

I don’t see myself as a writer. Not a full-time writer. I enjoy it. Have often wished I had more time to dedicate to it, but I guess it doesn’t get me excited like it really should. For example, I have started this new job, which quite frankly, is the biggest pain in the backside ever! Most people are unhelpful, the overall system appears to be a complete shambles, and I honestly feel already, after just a few weeks, that if I walk out tomorrow, the place will collapse.

Think a lot of myself don’t I?

Seriously though, the place creates so much stress for me. I spend half my day in meetings, and the other half with my head in my hands trying to figure out the mess. But I love it! I love solving the problems, figuring out simpler more precise steps to take to complete each task in half the time…It gives me a real buzz. I can’t truly explain it, but for all the stress, I want to be there. I guess at this time, it is right for me.

Writing, at this time, isn’t for  me.

I know what you are thinking, skip to the end, so I shall. I have a new and exciting project that is very much in its early days. the full details are still being etched out. I can tell you, it does involve producing a book, well two actually, maybe even three. This all depends on various factors, details of which will be coming your way. Just keep an eye out for ‘A Cuppa and an Armchair’, and all shall be revealed.

 

8 Responses to “Warning: This post includes frequent use of the passive voice”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Solving problems and making things quicker and easier…I do that everyday! It gives me a real buzz because it makes something easier for someone else and in most cases, they are grateful you have helped them out.

  2. Laney September 19, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Insightful post Ellie and I agree with you on many points. The important thing is that you like what you’re doing and if writing novels or shorts isn’t giving back what you need then stepping back is the right plan. Glad you are happy with your new job and that you are present again on the blog! ;))

    • Ellie September 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      I was slightly apprehensive about returning to the blog full time, (well, you know what I mean) I hadnt had any ideas, just felt I should dive back in. Now the ideas are flowing faster than I can write them. I am holding back though, I want to gently ease back in rather than exhaust everything all in one go.

      I am back on Twitter also, slightly nervous, not enjoying it, thinking use Google + instead!

  3. Charlotte September 17, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Ellie, I’m so pleased to hear that you got your chapters back – AND that you’re loving your job! You sound much more relaxed and happy with your life than you did a month or two ago. Magnificent. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about the project.

    • Ellie September 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      Well im glad to know you are looking forward to hearing about it….because it involves you!

      • Charlotte September 18, 2011 at 5:35 am #

        Reeallly… I am intrigued.

  4. Ellie September 16, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I think you are right Jack. I think we are afraid to stop, we dont want to be the one who says in twenty years, ‘I once wrote…’ If we dont stop though, we cant reflect. I am glad to know you did stop, but have started again. Out of interest, how long did your ‘break’ last?

  5. Jack Campbell, Jr. September 16, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I stopped writing for awhile. I think it happens to all of us. It’s like hitting the reset button. You have to wait for the whole thing to boot up again and be functional.

Leave a Reply

