Spam and self promotion – the missing link.

20 Sep

Now I am fully aware that spam is a frequent topic of conversation on blogs. Indeed, even on Twitter, the conversation comes up about what is received via DM.

I have often sat reading these thoughts wondering what did it matter, what harm does it do? After all, DM messages on Twitter are private, as for the blog, Akismet does a pretty good job – in fact, I have only ever had one spam comment break through the site.

My thoughts are still the same.

But, and I find this quite intriguing, in the space of five hours today I received 17 spam comments. Seventeen! I mean seriously, why do these people persist?

The message is generally unrelated, so you wouldn’t follow the link, and as for the spelling…

I am guessing as a whole my attitude is quite relaxed because I don’t have a mass following, I don’t post my URL here there and everywhere, and therefore, my traffic is relatively low. To know someone has popped by even if it is an automated computer generating utter drivel still pleases me. Small victories and all.

The low traffic is a large problem however, and it is something I need to work on. Obviously now I am back up and posting my traffic naturally increases, and the subscribers increase.I am once again using twitter, but it’s really not me. I know what you have to do, but I guess it just doesn’t sit right for me. I can’t really explain it. I guess my main issue is time management. At best of an evening I can commit two hours to the computer. I say at best, once the kids are in bed and I have run around I have two hours left before I head to bed. Hubby doesn’t mind, more often than not he is blogging also, but for both of us there is the guilt.

But lets say I do spend two hours an evening online. Check the blog, write a post, check FB, send some tweets, consider logging onto Google +…my two hours are pretty used up. Obviously in that I am reading blogs and commenting. I never quite manage to indulge with real interaction through twitter. A lot of this has to do with organisational skills, creating my lists etc.

Twitter is basically a no go for me I think is what I am saying.

So I now have two pages on Facebook as well. Lets be honest, the A Simple Guide to Self Publishing page has never been managed properly. Many authors do this so well, but quite frankly, I am rubbish. We have just set up the page for A Cuppa and an Armchair. As there are two admins on this the onus isn’t on me, but I already feel the pressure. How do I get the followers? how can I get the interaction? How do I get people to understand you like the page not the link? (or maybe they know…) More importantly with this particular site, how do I get people who don’t know me, or the charity, to give either their writing or their time?

So all in all, spam is not really a worry of mine. I just find it a little intriguing. Maybe it is my attitude towards spam, why bother, everyone knows it’s a scam attitude transfers to my promotional side (though mine isn’t a scam, let’s make that clear now).

Anyway, any suggestions on how to find a more positive approach to promotion would be greatly received. (And yes, this is coming from the author a simple guide to self publishing. I know I know, I guess I am after a little more personal advice, what you did/are doing, what definitely didn’t work).

If you have a short story that you would like to submit to A Cuppa and an Armchair, please email chat@elenaransley.com.

2 Responses to “Spam and self promotion – the missing link.”

  1. Alma November 2, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    It’s genuinely very difficult in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, therefore I simply use the web for that reason, and take the most up-to-date news.

  2. Locksmith miami Beach October 31, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

