I Have A List For You

24 Sep

I have a list for you. A list of ten items, no more no less. With these words, I am setting you a challenge. Before we start, grab a pen and paper.

As you read through this list, ideas should start forming in your mind, small links, memories or perhaps connotations. Make a note of them. (I considered showing images of each of the items but decided this could blur your own inspiration).

Here goes;

Running Water

Roast Chicken

Lavender

Vase

Sand

Doll

Bicycle

Nail Varnish

Berries

Picture Frame

Get much? It doesn’t matter if you didn’t. Just take time to think about this list, could you write a story incorporating some or all of these things?

OK, that’s it. Now write.

Seriously if you have never tried this challenge then it is worthwhile just taking an hour out of your day to see what you end up with. If you don’t like my list, get someone else to write a list for you. Sure you can write your own, but I never think it is the same. Prompts from others can take your thoughts in a slightly different direction to what is the ‘norm’ for your writing – can make you consider the ordinary somehow extraordinary.

This is a writing exercise. It is there to get the slow writers brain back on track. However, I confess I have an ulterior motive for putting this to you today.

As many of you will be aware, I am involved in the new project ‘A Cuppa and An Armchair‘. We are calling for submissions of short stories of no more than 2,000 words. Full details can be found here, on our Facebook page. (Please do pop by and like the page – we welcome all sorts!). You can also follow us on Twitter using #cuppa.

I have had many comments back about the project. All of which are very positive. It would seem however, some people are slightly anxious to get submitting, or wary of their work. Well, don’t be afraid. Send us your story. We WANT to hear from you. This exercise, is for those of you who feel you haven’t got anything suitable. Can you create a short from my list?

Just a note: For those of you waiting for the post about the charity Equipe, it is on its way. Just some final tweaks to make. Oh, and no, not all posts from here on will be about the project, I have some others to tell you about also in the coming weeks.

3 Responses to “I Have A List For You”

  1. submeg November 1, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    I have one lined up, but I will have to get a couple more I think. First I need to write something though!

  2. submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Saving this for later. Once I have my character bibles, I want to do some short stories to sharpen my skills before getting into the mass that is going to be my WIP.

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Good idea. Have you got a beta reader or two for once you are started?

Leave a Reply

