When an Opportunity comes Knocking

29 Sep

Sometimes opportunities come knocking on your door when you least expect it. This is what has happened to me of late and I wanted to share with you what I am up to.

Now don’t get excited, its nothing more than many of you are probably doing, but for me this is all new and exciting and I am throughly enjoying myself.

Obviously I have the #cuppa project happening. This was put to me through a friend I had been to University with. It was one of those things that was mentioned briefly, and then went quiet for a few weeks, and then bam, next thing you know it’s happening. It is great fun, and great to have so many of you supporting us.

As many of you will be aware, I have also been reading through Gav’s work for his novel ‘Reset’. I am still following this up, and have even started setting Gav deadlines for getting the next chapters to me. Why? Well, I want to read the ending obviously! But seriously, this has been a fantastic experience for me. It has opened up another world to me. I will point out the occasional grammatical error, but I am working more on the flow of the story, the characterisation, hunting out the flaws. It has even got to the point now with Gavs work that I don’t even tell him the lines that are exceptional. I don’t need to. My role has been established, and it is something that is working for both of us.

I shall be starting a new book project for a local company that visit schools. They show a variety of reptiles to the kids. As a teaching tool they use stories to give an insight into the animals natural habitat, and I have been asked to get these stories available as a ‘real book’. This is another opportunity for me to continue gaining experience and confidence.

Finally, the last thing I am doing related to the writing world…well it would seem I am handing out advice to writers. Not just on self-publishing, but they are asking me to read their work, just snippets at times, but they want my feedback. There is still the element of publishing information, but mostly it is looking at the best way of preparing to get started in either self-publishing or traditional publishing. Where do you start? Who to trust?

Uh….

I reply as honestly as I can, and to date, I don’t believe I have offended anyone. Likewise though, if I have, I never actually asked, or promoted myself outright as a go to person. Namely because I don’t have the self confidence to say, ‘I know about this…’ So if they haven’t heard what they wanted to hear….nah forget that, if you didn’t like what I said, get used to it, that’s the industry.

I may waiver at times on my knowledge, I may scream self-doubt, but I do know it, I know more than I often care to admit. I have not asked to be paid for any work at this time, and it is unlikely that unless I start being asked to the point I can’t escape my computer, that I will. You see, I believe we should all be there to support one another, through good and bad, and I know without support I wouldn’t have the knowledge I have now.

So, if you have anything you want advice on, want me to read through your work, or even would like me to host your guest post, then please do contact me.

I’m off to get cracking on another story that has been sent my way…

 

6 Responses to “When an Opportunity comes Knocking”

  1. Laney September 30, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Yay Ellie, I’m excited for you!

    • Ellie October 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Awww Laney…you know if it wasnt for you I would even be posting about it now. Thank you so much for your support!

  2. Ariana@Pearl's twirl September 30, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    Wow, you have lot of things on your plate. Good for you!

    • Ellie October 1, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks Ariana. It is definitely good to be busy enjoying yourself!

  3. Candice L Davis September 29, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Good for you! The beautiful thing is that you’re ready and willing to take advantage of each of those opportunities. When I was younger, I’d often be stunned into letting such things pass me by. I couldn’t believe such doors were opening to me. I’ve learned that it’s part luck, of course, but we large make our own luck. Now, I try to recognize opportunity, recognize my part in earning it, and take advantage of it.

    • Ellie October 1, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      I definately think for me also age has a large part in this. I was quite selfish when I was younger in that a) I didnt think I needed to put in the groundwork and b) even if something did present itself, my first question was ‘whats in it for me?’

      I have a job that I enjoy now that is completely unrelated to this side of my life, for me, this is all a hobby. The only thing that is in it for me is my personal enjoyment. NOTE: I am also very aware of how cheesy I have been sounding of late ha!

Leave a Reply

