Ian Rankin – Hide & Seek

30 Sep

Before I start, I just want to say I absolutely love Ian Rankin, so this is totally biased.

Rebus by far is my favourite Detective. He has so many foibles, can at times come across as a bumbling idiot, yet he is brilliant. The more I read, the more in awe of Rankin’s writing I become. I just wish I had read the books in order.

Each book has its main story, each book stands alone. Yet, just like with many of the great detective novels, there is an ongoing story about the detective himself.

This novel starts with ethe discovery of a body in an Edinburgh squat, to many it would seem an open and shut suicide case, but not Rebus. Digging deep into the murky undertones of the city, Rebus discovers a much more sinister and sleazy layer than even he could ever imagine.

As I have already said, I love Rankin’s writing so for me to say I couldn’t put the book down probably doesn’t surprise you. All I will say, don’t make the same mistake as me. If you havent read any of the Rebus series, start at the begiining. You wont regret it.

Leave a Reply

