Perhaps my clichéd autumn isn’t so great

4 Oct

Autumn. Possibly my favourite time of year. It is no wonder that it features so often in my writing. The beautiful colours, the crisp air can I get any more cliché?

My biggest problem with translating my memories of this season is the lack of reality. You see, for the past few years, desperate to get the images down on the page, I have taken many walks, stopping to listen to the sounds underfoot, the rustling in the tree…

I have only ever heard squelch. You see those crisps leaves, are very rarely that. They are soggy, sat in muddy puddles and the colours are dulled and somewhat depressing. Everything seems to decompose quicker than I can experience them.

I have never been sure, maybe my memories are false, maybe it is the reality of the wet Welsh air. Maybe I just wasn’t meant to write it as I wanted to.

Then hello, hot hot October. You bring with you glorious sunshine, a picture blue sky with cotton wool clouds, and the gentlest of breezes. The colours of the leaves seem to have halos enhancing the look, the crispness as they crunch beneath your feet is beyond my description. (Seriously, as I stood watching my son running through the piles of leaves and throwing them into the air, I tried to create some fantastic similes and metaphors – I needed to remember this moment, this sound, this atmosphere. I came up with its like stamping on bread sticks. I hang my head in shame…)

But, and i knew you were waiting for the but, something not so great happened yesterday. I am surrounded by rolling countryside. A farm, just down the road from me, which was host to the National Eisteddfod earlier this year, had a massive fire spread across the fields.

Read the story here.

I had to drive through the billowing black smoke that at times meant there was zero visibility. The strength of the smoke had me coughing, and it made me somewhat nervous. At this point I had no idea what was going on. Sure I could hear the sirens, and just by that measure, I knew it was going to be a major incident.

This got me thinking, this is bad, this is really bad. What I had celebrated as a wondrous thing, a glorious autumn, had resulted in a fire destroying so much around it. If it hadn’t been for the services – how much worse could this have been? (OK a little dramatic, but seriously….)

I managed to get home several hours after I had initially become aware of the fire. Late last night my husband returned home and informed me the roads were still closed.

I love the season we are having, but I realise now it isn’t ideal. The animals are acting slightly weird, and the spring bulbs are sprouting.

Now this change of heart doesn’t mean I am going to celebrate the prolonged winter and that horrific white stuff people think is fun, but I definitely will have a bit more understanding as to why it can’t just stay rain free 365 days a year.

So what about you? What is your favourite season?

2 Responses to “Perhaps my clichéd autumn isn’t so great”

  1. FIFALDE October 5, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Another good blog, nice to read first thing in the morning – except for the fire, sounds horrible.

    • Ellie October 6, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      It was horrible! Wont be happening again, today it has been torrential rain and hailstones…what a contrast!

Leave a Reply

