Self – promotion. Are we allowed to sleep?

10 Oct

Today is the final submission day for a Cuppa and An Armchair. I am sure you are all aware of this as many of you have already sent me your shorts.

So far this project has been a real learning experience. You would think, having done a book before it wouldn’t be anything new, but you would be very wrong.

A Simple Guide was a massive flop. One simple reason, I didn’t follow my advice. That book focused on how to do it all, but I wrote it without having experienced it, I had just completed months of research. Now, I will say, my learning was very thorough. I have applied everything I learnt during those months of research, and the bits I have picked up on since, to promoting the submission process of A Cuppa and An Armchair.

What I suspected, but didn’t really understand, was the hard work that promotion involved. I have spent on average two hours every evening trying to get the word out for the project. I have hopped online at every given opportunity throughout the day also. This would have been easier for FB status update and tweets had my Blackberry lasted a bit longer. Since being dropped, I think it had survived longer than could be reasonably expected. All the same…

So what is this promotion?

Well obviously there has been this blog. I have been very wary about just writing project related posts but I am not convinced I have provided enough variation. My main consideration was about not wanting to annoy my regular readers. There is something known as too much promotion. Personally it drives me mad when I am reading other writers blogs and it is all about their current WIP. Don’t get me wrong, this is fine if that is all your blog has ever been. What I’m saying is I don’t want my blog to be about one thing only. That is not where I am at the moment and I don’t want to lose readers because they may think I am.

Sticking with the blog I have tried to spend time reading new blogs, commenting, trying to spread the word. I haven’t been as successful as I would have liked, mainly because I haven’t done it anywhere near enough. promotion scares me, I don’t want to be a spammer…

On Twitter I have become a spammer lol! This was most obvious the day I discovered the problem with the email. Ahem, the day Charlotte told me about the problem. I just had to get the message out there. The only way I could do this was to keep posting the same thing over and to ask for others to retweet. Other than that I sent DMs to many tweeters, and attempted to join in with the conversations. Twitter is definitely my weak point, I’m not sure I fully understand it. Either way I gave it a good go and I am pleased with my progress.

Now Facebook i dreaded. How many times have you been told that Facebook is not the place to promote? Well, sure, the amount of effort I put in, hunting down writers, being inventive with updates and such, may not have been reflected in the ‘likes’, however, we have still managed to get up to 61 likes as of this evening. Bearing in mind A Simple Guide sits at 57, I am certainly not complaining. Now I know many writers have a higher following on Facebook, but I have been at this for a little over a month. We haven’t even put the book together. If the page grows at this rate, by the time the book is released, I shall be ecstatic.

I have dabbled at Google+, thought about LinkedIn and many others, but I decided to concentrate on my three main areas. I am glad I made this decision. I think I would have spread myself too thin otherwise.

So I guess I should get cracking with organising the shorts for the panel to read, plus a little last-minute tweeting and FB updating. I am hoping to take a week off from here, just to re group, and consider the next stages in full before we jump straight in. After all, not only have we had the problem with the email, the submission date has got somewhat muddled also, whoops! It will never run smoothly when you are doing all the running, but I guess a few rocks keep you on your toes. I am just very grateful that I have my Simple Guide knowledge to help steer me through this process.

As always big thank you to all of you who have shown your support, submitted, or just wished us luck.

10 Responses to “Self – promotion. Are we allowed to sleep?”

  1. submeg October 26, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Twitter…I find it a bit annoying. As soon as you add a few people, they begin tweeting. A lot. All the time. Then they retweet other people’s tweets. A lot. Your feed gets hammered and it’s usually full of stuff that a) isn’t interesting or b) you’re never going to read. Twitter is a hard line to tread.

    Currently, I just use twitter to spread my posts. All that is posted is the name of the post and a link to it (as you would know). Will I ever use it to hammer home my stuff? Not sure; there are plenty of other avenues.

    • Ellie October 29, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      I think Twitter you either have the time to dedicate, or you don’t. For example, I still haven’t had time to do ‘lists’. Until I do that, I will be stuck with the problem you mention. It is about compartmenatlising so you can dip in and out depending on your needs.

      I have to confess I use twitter the same as you, but if we are all doing that, what is the chances of anyone actually paying attention. My voice definietely drowns in all the voices!

      • submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:49 am #

        The problem is, Twitter has people twittering some absolute garbage. They fill your feed. They tell you to WATCH THIS, READ THAT, HAHA THAT’S FUNNY! CHECK IT OUT.

        Stop.

        I understand that they are excited, but seriously, ten different retweets, then other random thoughts? Sometimes it’s just verbal diarrhea.

        Yes, the squeaky wheel gets the oil. However, I still think quality over quantity wins in the end. I eventually unfollow those that tweet too often.

      • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

        Ha ha this made me laugh!

  2. scribbla October 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Two thumbs up for your massive effort! Thanks for providing the opportunity and for throwing your whole self in. It is appreciated very much.

    • Ellie October 11, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Well lets hope it pays off – especially for people like you that have really got behind us and supported the work we are doing. Thank you

  3. FIFALDE October 11, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Yes, you are allowed to sleep, I say so!!

    • Ellie October 11, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

      Well I am now taking a week off from promotion so I will rest a little lol!

  4. Ariana@Pearl's twirl October 11, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    Good luck indeed. I am also lost at twitter and FB is not my favorite site to promote my blog.

    • Ellie October 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Twitter i think must work really well if you are able to just put an hour aside throughout the day just to join in, I just don’t know anyone with thst luxury. FB is definitely about the people you know.

Leave a Reply

