Quick…we need someone to design a front cover!

12 Oct

Help!

I switched myself off from the project ‘A Cuppa and An Armchair’ for maybe 24 hours and boom, I am scrabbling around trying to find time to fit in every task I need to complete.

There is one major one that needs sorting, and to do this, I need YOUR help.

Many of you will have realised to date we haven’t sorted out an official logo for the project. Like the cover of a book, I thought I would deal with it in time. I didn’t need it just yet…

That was where I made the first mistake. I should have had this organised long ago. Today, I received an email from Equipe. Next week they will be sending out their last communication to their supporters for 2011. What better way to start promoting the project as a book to buy – an ideal Christmas present?

No worries, I have some information to hand. I would need to check a few things and I can create some ‘blurb’…oh, the image…

Right this is my thoughts. The image I want should represent the title. It should be suitable to use in promotion and as the main image on the front of the book. In short, we are designing the bulk of the front cover.

This is where YOU come in.

We have less than a weeks deadline. Lets say Tuesday 18th October by 11.59pm GMT. Can you put together an image for free (remember this is all for charity) and have it ready by the time set?

It can be a sketch, a fully illustrated image, or even a photo. In my mind I am thinking the arm of a tatty chair with a porcelain cup and saucer. I am NOT a designer. my ideas never quite work out as I expect, so really, it is your choice. What do YOU think will work? What resources do you have to hand that could create something suitable in such a short time?

In return for your work, you will obviously be noted as the designer within the book itself, as well as receiving mentions via this blog, the Facebook page and twitter.

To make this fair, we are asking for all images to be displayed on the Facebook page for everyone involved and supporting to view. On Wednesday 19th, we will ask for those same people to vote on their favourite design. You can vote for your own, and ask your friends to join in. We don’t mind, the more people who know about the project the better.

To state the obvious, the design with the most votes will be the winner.

So, are you in?

If you have stumbled across this page and do not feel you can take part, but know someone who could, please tell them. We know we are asking a lot, but we really cannot do this without you!

Thank you!

This is our 'make do' image at the moment....yeah, we really are desperate!

4 Responses to “Quick…we need someone to design a front cover!”

  1. Christine Cunningham October 12, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    I just submitted one. I’m looking forward to the results. 😀

    • Ellie October 13, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

      My official phrase for this project is ‘It’s so exciting’. And it is, when I saw your image appear I let out a little yelp of excitement.

  2. 3by3 writing method October 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    so i looked at the face book page. does nothing for me what are you really looking for (no promises)

    • Ellie October 12, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      We just need a design that we can use on the front cover of our book, and within our promotional work up until the book is available to view. Kinda like a branding image. The idea is that the image reflects the title, sitting down in your comfy chair with a cup of tea and your favourite book. It is a charitable project and everyone involved has donated stories and time.

Leave a Reply

