Mary Higgins Clark – Let me Call You Sweetheart

21 Oct

I have read Higgins Clarks work for as long as I can remember. I was hooked from the first book, and have quite often sat down to indulge in some afternoon TV for the adaptations.

Each book has the same set up. Each ends the same way, very predictable. However, I am yet to guess the outcome on any book. Oh, and the titles I think are so similar that I almost didn’t read this one thinking I had read it some time before. I guess that’s why this blog features a reading list. Once you have it written down what you have read, you never forget.

 

Anyway, back to this book. Kerry McGrath is a prosecutor. After her daughter is injured in a traffic accident, she visits a plastic surgeon. Whilst waiting to be seen, Kerry spots a familiar looking woman exiting the surgery. When she enquires about who this lady is, the name rings no bells. Fast forward several weeks and Kerry is sat in the waiting room again. the same face appears, but is definitely not the same woman.

As Kerry digs for info, she starts releasing demons from a past trial, putting not only her own life, but her daughters too, in danger. Throughout the twists and turns you think you have it figured, just be surprised by the turn of a page.

Well done Higgins Clark, you’ve done it again.

2 Responses to “Mary Higgins Clark – Let me Call You Sweetheart”

  1. aarongraham October 22, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    R. A. Salvator is like the M.H.C. of the Fantasy world. I used to really like him, and then I workd in this bookstore where this agent/editor guy was also my manager. I remember flipping throught a Salvator book while on break and he mocked me saying, “Brave Newbie (he always called me Newbie) Way to go out on a limb and admit you like Salvator. I always hide his books when anyone I respect comes over.”

    After that…I must admit…I feel a twinge of guilty pleasure every time I pick up one of his books. Like MHC, his plots are predictable, flat and basically a really well written Dungeons & Dragons game…but its a lot of fun.

    • Ellie October 23, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      And lets face it, fun is what its all about. If reading was hard work, I wouldn’t do it!

      I feel a post coming on….I worked in a book store too. I wonder how many of ‘us’ have done that??

Leave a Reply

