You don’t want to miss this…well you might.

29 Oct

Do you ever read a post and think ‘What the….?’

This happened to me this week. I was reading Christo the Nomads post on chairs, yes that’s right, the uncomfortableness that is the workplace chair.

By the time I had finished reading, I was overwhelmed by the cleverness of the writing, or more to the point, the ability to write about the everyday, in a way that was not everyday at all. Seriously, if you realised you were reading about a chair, would you continue?

Anyway, it got me thinking. My chair is slightly amazing. It is very much an ordinary chair, in an ordinary room. ordinary people sit on it, and more often than not, watch ordinary TV and occasionally eat ordinary food. (I say occasionally eat, that is a lie, all the time we eat sat on the chair, but we aren’t supposed to admit to this).

It is an ordinary colour, black. It isn’t feather filled, just ordinary foam….thats all to it really.

So what makes it amazing? Well I spent most of my uni time sat on this chair writing assignments. Most of my current WIP (yeah OK, what is supposed to be the current WIP) has been created on this chair, and, A Cuppa has seen most of its progress happen right on this chair.

So?

So the most amazing thing, I sot on my chair every night and it does something most would moan about, and it isn’t that great I can tell you, but worthy of discussion, IT EATS TIME!

Seriously, I lie not. I sit down around 8pm and then BAM, its 10 o’clock and I really should be thinking about bed sometime soon.

Now I know if I sit on the chair across the room with the slight bounce I would be aware of every minute passing. Does this happen to you, do you have a chair that just makes time disappear?

Talking of time eaters, Alexis wrote this post on social media, and how we get easily distracted. It is definitely a well-worn discussion, but Alexis shared some of her writers friends tactics to avoid the pitfalls of social medias consumption of time.

One of the commenters, Anthony Lee Collins, made a suggestion that having a friend change a password until a certain deadline had passed maybe the way forward. Seriously though, could you do this? As much as I like the idea, I doubt I could very much.

Now I have had friends that have closed accounts such as FB and managed to refrain for several months at a time, but they always return…and they aren’t writers. I would be too worried I would miss something vital, a competition, a friends new release, but would anyone else notice, or even care?

Anyway, just to push you towards another post I want you to read check out Christos post on Roys of Wroxham. I am sure I missed the irony of the post but it brought back so many memories….enjoy.

10 Responses to “You don’t want to miss this…well you might.”

  1. submeg October 31, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    I have just read your entire blog. Phew!

    Time to go lie down. It has been interesting to see your take on many different avenues of writing – has given me some ideas to work with. Now time to read/stalk Laney’s! haha

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      Wow! Thank you! I have attempted to also respond to every comment, but sure I have missed some. Laneys great so go enjoy yourself!

      • Laney November 4, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

        You guys….awww! But my blog sucks lately! You are both one up on me (well….two). Writing again though;) Whew.

      • Ellie November 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

        Yay! Just what I wanted to hear!

  2. Alexis October 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out!

    I would notice if you were gone from Facebook… if I added you on there. Maybe I will look for you!

    And no, I probably couldn’t refrain, even if I knew it would help me. Because I’m self-destructive like that.

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      I think that makes us two peas in a pod!

  3. Christo October 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Great post Ellie, and thank you very much for the kind words on my own blog!

    I definitely relate to the social media issue. I couldn’t have a friend keep my password, and I often delete/reactivate my FB account! For me this blog project was initially an escape from FB while not neglecting my need for opinion/comment/networking fixes.

    I’m now addicted to both :s

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Christo if a is memorable and makes me smile it is always worth a mention!

  4. FIFALDE October 30, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Yup, a quantum chair stuffed with neutrinos. I have one too!

    • Ellie October 31, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      I actually think it is quite rude! I have already had 40 minutes of my time just whipped away this evening.

Leave a Reply

