That charity book – A Cuppa

14 Nov

Hello.

For some reason I feel quite shy writing this. Like someone that has been outside the community for so long and is trying to creep back in without making a big noise…ha!

OK, so it hasn’t been that long since I posted, but boy does it feel like a lifetime. I have been so busy, but so filled with ideas….it is always the way, if I had long empty evenings stretching in front of me I am pretty certain my brain would be dead for ideas.

Just to prove how mad things are – I actually have come up with not only an idea for the next WIP – but a business proposal. I know, tis truly shockin the way my mind works.

So let’s get on with it then, the CUPPA update.

Today I received the first illustration to go with one of the stories. Yes that’s right, we are including illustrations with the ‘grown ups’ book. (Quick note, I don’t know why I refer to it as the grown up book but the adult book feels like its going to be a bit naughty – which it most definitely isn’t).

So what we have been after are just single images, almost like a book cover for each story. We are welcoming photos also….anyway, I am getting off track here. the image was amazing. Well, I thought so, it made me smile and that’s is all I ask for. The fact that the artist then pinpointed the exact part of the story that he had drawn inspiration for was just the icing on the cake. I have a further 6 or 7 images (fingers crossed) that shall be arriving with me in the next few days. I just can’t wait. It is really exciting opening your emails, never knowing what you will get.

It is a shame we cannot have an image for every story, but each one has been given to an illustrator. If inspiration doesn’t come, it can’t be forced. I am sure we can all relate to that.

Among others, Charlotte English has been busy proofreading stories. Once we have everything together, Submeg, will be attempting the formatting for us. Thank goodness for Sub else we would be in big trouble – well I would, a full week of hair pulling i do believe.

There are many sites and people who I would love to link to, but I am not 100% sure on where everything stands at this stage. I think I shall at a later date, provide a list of everyone that has helped, what they did, and the links to their sites.

This week, I shall be focusing on compiling the last bits and bobs, sending emails, and of course, really hitting the PR. This is something I am confident about, I just need to be clearheaded to work solidly on it. So apologies for another Cuppa update, but I needed to pass on the information just to know I was free to concentrate this week.

With regards to the children’s stories, I am certain I have mentioned it, but we decided to release that work Easter 2012. We will be releasing them as individual books, fully illustrated, and if….the big if….I pull it off, they will also be released as fully interactive apps. Yeah, I know.

Anyway, keep in touch. I am reading blogs but being a silent observer. watching, listening, stealing ideas lol!

Oh and the listings are;

Who do you think I am? – Mike Norbury, Conspiracy Theory #92, A Second Chance – Gavin Hayes, Fate – Cora Beth Carter, The Land of Noc Noc – Andrew Blair, A Daring Debut – Charlotte English, Family Fortunes – Rachael Stevenson, Dirt – Gethin Morgan, Raindrops – Michelle Payne, Ghost Girl – Alicia Cunningham, Must be the music – Alan Lloyd, The Kalistanian Princess – Chelsea Sutherland, Along for the ride – Danilelle Shipley, The healing well – Melanie Kerr, Dorothy – J S Wilsoncroft, The Music Box – Daniel Challinor

3 Responses to “That charity book – A Cuppa”

  1. submeg November 27, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Hopefully it all falls together really quickly!

  2. deshipley November 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    I actually jumped when I read my title and name. It always takes a while before truly awesome things feel real. (:
    Glad to hear things are coming along. Can’t wait to see the final product. Now, back to hitting the PR on my end; The People need to hear about this!

    • Ellie November 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      We really hope we do not disappoint! I am in that stage of anxious nervousness, so many promises, so much to do….it will be fine, it always is but I cant wait to know that everything is in place and we are just waiting for the best bit to happen!

Leave a Reply

