Time for my CUPPA!

27 Nov

A cup of tea and a slice of chocolate cake is waiting for me. You cannot begin to imagine how long I have dreamt about sitting down to enjoy such simplicity without the computer switched on, or nagging thoughts running around my mind.

Today is a special day, no, today is an amazing day. Finally, I can put my feet up and say, I have earned this!

What am I talking about? Well A Cuppa and an Armchair of course. It has totally consumed me over the last couple of months. I have literally put the kids to bed and started working every evening, switching the computer off as I get nudged and told it is time for bed.

My lunch breaks have been taken up by meetings or responding to emails, research and more. The most hilarious moment for me was when in a moment of panic I decided it was time to refer to the how to guides…it wasn’t long before A Simple Guide became a much needed reference. (Shameless plug but honestly, it was a permanent fixture on my iPad)

As with all projects, I had two little voices, the one that said give up, you never agreed to this much work, and the other one that said, you have told the world what you are doing, why you are doing it, and those that have chosen to be part of this trust you. They believe in you.

That is an almighty burden that I never envisaged. I never contemplated letting other people down at the beginning. When this started, it was about a charity called Equipe and raising money. Today, and I reached this conclusion sometime back, I can say this book is not about Equipe, it is about the writers and artists and everyone in between who got involved and took this opportunity and really made it something special. Equipe getting the money for each sale is just an added bonus now. (Don’t hate me for that but really, there is no book without such wonderful people).

So does this mean we have a release date? Ha ha ha. No. Lol! I should receive the proof on Wednesday and as soon as that is in my hands and I have checked it we will get a date that it will be available for sale. I can’t say it will be before Christmas, I have bene told we may mange it still, but lets just keep our fingers crossed. By the way, the proof I am referring to is the paperback without images. The paperback with images may be a few days later as I am waiting on an email.

(What? Two books? Urgh, long story but basically with images has ended up relatively expensive so we opted for two books to give customer choice – ebook is with images!)

Where will you be able to buy it – pretty much everywhere online, in bookstores you will need to preorder!!

The ebook is now on its way to the various distributors but is available on smashwords today. (I know, I know we should wait for an official release but I am kinda excited here!!!) The ebook is selling for $2.99. It will be available on Amazon in this format, but I have handed over the last bit of ‘faff’ to my husband – seriously my eyes will just give up and maintain a continued blurriness for the rest of forever and beyond is I sit there trying to understand all that not so difficult techniques they mumble on about…..sorry I am just not very good at tech!

I am not so stupid that I expect everything to run smoothly from here. I know that there will be glitches in the text that will need sorting – if there wasnt I would be very suspicious. I know I still have a heap load of PR that I need to get through, but you know what, we are almost there and at times I didn’t think we would reach this stage so big round of applause to all involved.

Now I know I have previously given thanks to various people, but time to do it again, in full.

Andrew Blair    

Mike Norbury

Cora Beth Carter

Gavin Hayes

Rachel Stevenson

Charlotte E. English

Gethin Morgan

Michelle Payne

Alicia Cunningham

Alan Lloyd

Chelsea Sutherland

Danielle Shipley  

Melanie Kerr

J.S. Wilsoncroft     

Daniel Challinor

Skyler Luttrell

Nick Deglar

Lawrence Chadwick -Smith

Danielle Zwissler

Carol Hoare

Jack Kempster

Darryl Robertson

Brian Burke

Cara Branigan

Leigh Gembus

A massive thank you also to all that have shown support and follow us on Facebook – you guys are amazing!

11 Responses to “Time for my CUPPA!”

  1. Rachel Stevenson November 30, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Yes, that’d be great, thank you.
    Rachel

  2. submeg November 29, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Awesome! Good to see it up on smashwords. I have send you an email regarding the formatting for the Kindle version!

    • submeg November 29, 2011 at 7:13 am #

      *sent ugg

    • Ellie November 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      Will check my emails now – thanks again!

  3. Jack Kempster November 28, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Well done!

    Does the version available on smash words include the illustrations?

    • Ellie November 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      Yes, it will only be the one paperback that will not have illustrations, the ebook, and the app when I have it finished will feature the illustrations.

  4. Rachel Stevenson November 28, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    That’s really great….well done! BTW, my name is still wrong, it’s Rachel (one a) Stevenson (thanks).

    • Ellie November 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I have just changed your name in every document – you know ‘Rachel’ is featured five times, and I have four versions lol! I will upload the new one with the changes but apologies in advance for any delay (it will only be the ebook as I haven’t confirmed the proof of the paperback).

      And sorry…I know I have officially been rubbish with names which is awful of me!

      • Rachel Stevenson November 29, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        Cheers! Can I be a pain and ask for a link to my writing blog too? It is http://rachelstevensonwriting.wordpress.com/

        Thanks.

      • Ellie November 29, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

        Yeah no worries shall get that sorted this evening!

      • Ellie November 29, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

        Oh did you want that in the book also?

Leave a Reply

