Tomatoes destroyed my lunch!

25 Jan

Many foods come with labels, nutritional health, traffic light, allergy warnings, you name it, you can pretty much find it on a food label.

For me this is quite lucky, we recently discovered my daughter is allergic to cows milk. This, makes life really difficult, but I am becoming quite the expert at reading food labels quickly.

But that is not the reason for this post. Oh no, today I want to talk about cross contamination, that vile nasty effect bad foods have on good delightful yummy foods.

No no no, not using different boards for preparing different foods, I am talking about the destruction of taste by unnecessary ingredients.

And I know you all experience this, however, you may not agree with my particular foods.

Tomatoes – Why oh why do they insist on putting tomatoes in sandwiches? Now I hate tomatoes, even the smell is nasty, but they are bad for other reasons. Firstly, they make the bread soggy. Its like the bread has been defrosted and the bag was left sealed. The bread has absorbed the moisture and you are left with a goo that even the hungriest of ducks would turn their beaks up at. Secondly, you can’t remove a tomato from the sandwich, it leaves pips and goo and no matter how hard you try, that slimy texture remains. As for the flavour that then lingers on your fingers…

Glace Cherry – The humble Bakewell tart. Delicious and creamy, sweet melt in the mouth pastry…yum. But oh my goodness, makes sure to peel off the icing that was criminally ruined by that glace cherry they inappropriately placed on top. It’s not just Bakewell tarts, fruit cakes, christmas puddings…all destroyed!

Mixed peel – basically we have the same error here as with glace cherries (yes I guess you could say I still have a bitter taste in my mouth after Christmas). the difference however, is mixed peel is hidden. You can’t see those tiny bits of yukkiness mixed in. No, it is only once you have taken a huge bite that you discover someone somewhere felt it necessary to place mixed peel into what would have been the best thing you have eaten. What really annoys me about peel is that it really does destroy all other flavours. Its like in its smallness it has tried to compensate by making itself a overpoweringly bad flavour.

There are other foods I dislike, namely fish, shellfish, liver, kidney, black pudding & haggis (not that I have tried either but just the thought is enough). Luckily though, as a rule these do not enter my life too often. I have shall we say, mastered the art of avoidance.

Goats cheese, camembert and pâté are slippery numbers that people seem to believe that you just don’t like them because they haven’t been served right. No, I really just don’t like them.

So what about you? what foods do you dislike? which foods destroy what could be a tasty little snack?

10 Responses to “Tomatoes destroyed my lunch!”

  1. Ariana January 26, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Have you tried pickled tomatoes – they delish!

    • Ellie January 27, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      No! never heard of them, and yes, I definitely would love to try them. I love pretty much everything pickled, except eggs, thats just weird. Where can i get these from?

  2. FIFALDE January 26, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    You’re getting old, system less tolerant – I should know!!!
    Seriously tho’ – tomatoes IN sandwiches – yuck, really fresh locally grown tomatoes WITH sandwiches yum.
    As for the person who invented glace cherries – no words will suffice!
    Mixed peel, hmm I put a little in the Choc Bombs – too much?
    My biggest dislikes: beetroot (comes straight back up), cucumber with nasty thick green skin left on; bits of wilted salad with everything from lasagne to something and chips, (and don’t you get funny looks when you say you don’t want their bit of wilted “garnish”).

    • Ellie January 27, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Nothing to do with tolerance, just vile flavours, and i have carried this with me since i was a kid!

      Beetroot I love only if pickled ha ha, and the wilted salad, i will give it a go. Cucumber is a flavour i can tolerate but will never like!

      As for the chocolate bombs…this post wasnt aimed at them, but yes, it was one of many thing sover xmas that i felt deidedly sad about after putting far too big a portion in the bowl lol!

  3. Jessica S January 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Stinkin’ tomatoes! LOL! They’re nothing but trouble. I’m actually allergic to the acid in them, and my husband simply doesn’t like their taste. Yet, when you try to order something without them, you’re looked at as you must be a strange new breed of lepracy (<–I have no idea how to spell that, by the way).

    What I hate is when every once in awhile some idiot decides to throw on sweet pickles instead of dill pickles on a hamburger. Like, what the heck?! Would I ask for a side of butter to dip my fries in? No, I don't think so. What makes you think I want that disgusting oddity thrown on? Ech!

    • Ellie January 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      I know its like we are the odd ones! Like, hello! And yes im with you with the sweet pickles, sometimes i just wanna jump into the kitchen and just sort it myself…kinda defeating the object somewhat.

  4. Laney January 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I’m not a raw tomato fan, but they’re great cooked. Good to see you up on the blog Ellie;)

    • Ellie January 27, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Even cooked im very wary! Baby steps with this blogging thing. I ahve a lot of mistakes I do not wish to repeat, and my time is precious so it must be well spent. Tomato posts are the building blogs of getting back in the habit.

  5. andy1076 January 25, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    I’ve had some bad experiences with food gone bad. The worst though is garlic. I love garlic bread and sprinkles but when it goes bad? boy! you never see it coming! ended up in the hospital for it 😦

    • Ellie January 25, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Oh my goodness! Thats sounds awful! I love garlic so I guess I will be somewhat cautious now. Garlic is certainly a curious thing. I have never been one to suffer from garlic breath, or have it seeping from my pores, but I have found in the last few months I have to consider what my later plans are prior to tucking in…is this because I am getting older, or is it I just have a build up in my system??

Leave a Reply

