Writers Wobble

8 Feb

Writers Wobble, that is the name I am giving to my current state of mind.

I have posted my intentions, the first buzz of the project has passed, and it is time to begin. I read the comments with intrigue, some of the questions asked were the same as I had already considered, and then bam, the wobble begins.

What if this project does not have enough strength to it? What if I do not have it in me to complete this? (even with your help) What if I get midway and give up?

I think that last thought is the one we fear the most. That fear we may have to walk away, and the consideration that perhaps rather than let ourselves down, we just don’t bother starting.

And we may have to walk away. I think this is one of the hardest things that writers must come to terms with. Sometimes, the idea just wont work, no matter how hard you work at it. Maybe it is too complex, maybe just too simple, or maybe the timing is just wrong. Until you get going you won’t know, and that is why you mustn’t quit too soon.

Writers wobble is definitely real. You must not underestimate it. Those of us with oodles of belief in our writing may not suffer with it as strongly, those that perhaps lack the confidence could potentially allow it to destroy a real passion before the fire has truly been ignited.

It doesn’t go away either. I know many writers that hold off sharing their work, for many reasons, but ultimately it is that wobble, that fear. Ask them what they are worried about and they don’t know. For most they understand it is irrational, but that doesn’t make it any less real.

I do believe the wobble is greater the longer you leave it between projects. I also believe that without at least a momentary wobble, your writing shows an air of arrogance (or maybe that’s wishful thinking – just let me have that one as i reassure myself that the wobble state is a worthwhile tool for us writers).

So how do you get through writers wobble? Have you any tips as to how this can be put to good use?

Coming up this week – I answer the questions and pose more in response to your comments following the start of the project found here.

6 Responses to “Writers Wobble”

  1. Jessica S February 8, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    This is probably going to sound really dumb, and I shouldn’t admit it, but I finally used markers and made myself a huge “JUST DO IT!!” poster by my desk. LOL! Silly as it may sound, it actually really helps. 🙂

    • Ellie February 9, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      No not all, I may just abbreviate and go in for the tick bah ha ha! Seriously though, this is just what it is all about, we have the same struggles, it is how we each learn to deal with them that is important.

  2. ameliaclaire92 February 8, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Love this. I’m facing some of this as well.

    • Ellie February 9, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      The trick is just to realise it is what it is, and nothing else. If you let the fear get you know, you will never do anything – and that applies to everything in life!

  3. taureanw February 8, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Awesome post!
    I’m going through this right now!! There is no greater feeling then coming up with a brand new idea & then developing it into a story. Actually starting the process is when you really begin to notice some of the flaws & then that good ole doubt creeps in. I love the name Writers Wobble!

    • Ellie February 9, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Thank you! I am running this new challenge on here where we take a short and create it into one full piece tracking the progress from start to finish, with readers in put. the idea being that we all go through the same thing, its just whether we are honest enough to admit it! I loved your post on the blank page, I never think of it as a blank page, just the blank mind. I guess that is because I very rarely do that sitting down and staring…

Leave a Reply

