Forget Planning, I’m Writing!

17 Feb

NO WAY OUT

I will be honest, I haven’t written the synopsis yet. I had hoped today I would be sharing two with you, gauging your reactions as to which we should go with. Gauging your reactions, maybe they should be combined, maybe they should both be scrapped?

Alternatively I had hoped I would be sharing some character bibles, and pics, I have several chosen. But no, I haven’t finished those either.

I have done something very naughty though. I have written the first scene. Perhaps not the first scene, but certainly the first scene in my head is down on paper.

This is naughty as I wanted to get the planning completed in full before I began, and this is supposed to be something we are doing together. But, well, oh…

This is the first piece of creative writing I have put down on the page since June. Can you believe it? I just couldn’t resist the pull. I had to do it. Now I have done one, I will do more, I want to be doing more, not blogging, but I am holding back. I am relishing the moment of getting started again. I don’t have another full scene fully mapped out at this moment, so there is no need to rush, no need to bite the bullet and throw myself in head first. I can just enjoy this.

(For those of you that don’t follow my continuous whining on Facebook I am recovering from flu so it is probably wise to pace myself  – she tells herself fully aware that the head is pounding again and the throat is feeling tight and she really should be in BED).

Anyway, I just wanted to share more my delight at writing again, at the want to really get started, not just that pondering of tomorrow I shall begin. For this I have to thank you all. The support in your comments for this challenge has pushed for this return.

 

9 Responses to “Forget Planning, I’m Writing!”

  1. Ariana February 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    You are right forget planning – just write!

    • Ellie February 23, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      yay for the freedom to choose!

  2. Kathy February 19, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    Or, if you prefer positive to negative reinforcement (and like cats), the Written? Kitten! website.

  3. Jessica S February 19, 2012 at 4:15 am #

    Yay!

    • Ellie February 23, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      I know right – now it is your turn!

  4. Kathy February 18, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I’m glad you feel like writing again–even if you don’t feel like writing. It’s good when the wheels start turning again.

    I don’t plan. I write/plan/write/plan…can’t do it any other way, it seems. So I don’t think you’re naughty at all.

    • Ellie February 23, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Now that sounds much more like me. However, I had promised to do this challenge in a certain way, the fact that just two weeks in i broke my own rules doesnt bode well for the completion ha!

  5. grumphy February 18, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    You know its bad … but you can’t help it! lol
    Good to hear the words are flowing again – I was going to suggest the Write or Die website (responsible for my wordcount at the mo), but I don’t think you need it!

    • Ellie February 23, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Im not fully back in the swing but am definitely feeling the limitations in my time that I can write. I miss having the odd thirty mins to snatch to get that burning scene down on the page. Because my time is disjointed, it feels what ends up on the page reflects this

Leave a Reply

