The Sphinx Project – Review

6 Mar

Today I want to share with you The Sphinx Project a new title that has just been released by self published author Katherine Hawkings.

Lets start with the blurb:

Not many people can say their entire existence has been one big lab experiment: poked and prodded by scientists, genetically modified to be the best and endure the worst, subjected to daily tests and trials that would kill a normal human. All Michaela wants is her own life, to be able to go to school, flirt with boys, maybe eat ice cream now and then. So when the chance to escape finally comes, Michaela and her sister grab it, taking their friends with them.
But they weren’t the only ones to find their way out of those labs. Following close behind are another breed of creature, one that doesn’t know the difference between right and wrong, who exist only to feed their own hunger. The appearance of a strange boy who seems too much like them to be a coincidence makes things even more confusing. But as the world begins to literally fall apart around them, Michaela must accept his help, especially when she could lose the very thing she holds dearest: her sister.

Sounds good. Believe me, it does not disappoint. Fast paced, action packed, compelling storyline..even the slightest hint of romance is included in this genreless book.(Maybe I have made that word up – lets run with it!) And it is genreless, its crossover is what holds its appeal, a bit of everything for everyone and it certainly seems effortless, and there is not one point that I scrunched my face feeling that it didn’t work.

Sure, it may predominantly fit YA but i think to pigeon-hole it would detract from its quality.

I just have two negative points to raise. During the first half of the book a couple of times I felt the information was repeated. Just the odd line, but I noticed it, so I have to mention it. The other one is the fact that this book is part of a series, and I need the rest of that series NOW. Seriously, I feel like my iPad has been stolen midway through a book.

My recommendation is that everyone should read this book. Even if it isn’t your usual cup of tea, the drama and action is too much to ignore, you will be at the end before you even know you have started. If, like me, you are impatient, I recommend you follow Katherine Hawkings to keep up to date with new releases so you can get the full series in one hit as soon as it is available.

You can pick up your copy here.

5 Responses to “The Sphinx Project – Review”

  1. Christo March 7, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Ellie I really like that your blog is a haven and forum for other writers – I’ll be sharing your page with a few self-published writer friends. There is a lot of inspiration and encouragement on this blog 🙂

    • Ellie March 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Awww thanks Christo – as a massive fan of your blog that means a lot!

  2. FIFALDE March 7, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    This sounds to be the sort of book I like; there’s a lot of really good YA books out there, When you say it’s the first of a series, does that mean that (like the Lokant series) it’s not a complete story in each book? If so, I’m not buying (at least not until the story is complete!!!!
    Do authors do this because publishers insist it’ll sell more books or because they haven’t worked out the end of the story?????

    • Ellie March 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      I can’t speak for Kate hawkings, or Charlotte English for that matter, but I assume it is because they have many aspects to tell, but too much for one book. Certainly with the Sphinx project you did hit the end with a sense of argh, I need more closure, however, there is an ending. In some ways I would say it is better to know there is more coming as I know I definitely read more books than not that leave me frustrated as i haven’t had all the answers – tho some books give too much away and you end up throwing it across the room wishing you had never bothered!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paperback Dolls » Blog Tour Review and Giveaway: The Sphinx Project by Kate Hawkings - March 15, 2012

    […] reviewed by: Elena Ransley – Clu’s Review – Book […]

Leave a Reply

