I am such a plum…

12 Jan

I sent an email today to Jessica S. The title was ‘I am such a plum’. I won’t go into details, lets just say I did something that has made me feel very silly. No harm done but to make such a mistake when you aim in the long run to be professional,  does make you stop and think.

Am I ready for this?

The simple answer is of course not. But that’s not to say I am going to walk away and bury my head. I can’t. Besides everything else I have to keep on top just to finish university. Only a few more months to go and I won’t be beat.

I am currently attempting to start work on my fourth idea for my creative writing project. I don’t want to talk about it. It just scares me. I think that is the very reason for the delay in getting properly started.

My e-book research is going well. Very well in fact. The body of text for the guide-book I was hoping to publish, not well, not well at all. I have actually sent it to Eoin Purcell after he kindly said he would take a peep. I am deeply embarrassed (a rather plum shade I would say), because I know it isn’t good enough. At the time I thought it was, but now, I am fully aware it needs a lot, and I mean a lot of work doing to it. I can assure you that is fact and not just self-doubt.

In the coming weeks I shall be starting my research on the need for children’s e-books. I shall also be hoping to get analytical with my blog project. Luckily enough the bulk of what I need to analyse is already written thanks to this very blog.

I have decided that being a plum and making mistakes now is just fine. I am married with two kids, I am closer to thirty than twenty, but I am only just understanding what I want from my career. How many people can honestly say they wasnt a rather purple shade time to time at the start?

3 Responses to “I am such a plum…”

  1. Jessica S January 14, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I assure you, Ellie, you handled the plum moment with the utmost dignity and professionalism. I would highly recommend you as a client to other service providers (if I was willing to share–that is).

    Now, stop being hard on yourself, and go tell your son that Jess and Buzz say, “Hi.” 😉

  2. Ellie January 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Oh wow Eoin! Help with the e-books for kids would be great. Thank you!

    I have put on hold reading back through my work that I sent you. I have much I feel I need to add but will just shut it out for now….it’s not as if i am short of things to do!

  3. Eoin Purcell January 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Ellie,

    But it is good enough! And despite my tardiness in getting through my workload, I will have a final note for you VERY soon!

    In terms of your research for ebooks for kids, I may also be able to help, note to follow in email!

    Eoin

Leave a Reply

